Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Splendor in the Grass Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

1961's premiere "date" movie represented the screen debut of [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]]. Set in the 1920s, [[Performer~P95447~William Inge~williaminge]]'s screenplay concerns the superheated romance between working-class high schooler [[Performer~P77340~Natalie Wood~nataliewood]] and rich kid Beatty. Trying their best to keep their relationship from going "all the way," Beatty and Wood go through a series of unsatisfying interim romances. The troubled Wood attempts suicide and is sent to a mental institution, while Beatty impregnates freewheeling waitress [[Performer~P40197~Zohra Lampert~zohralampert]]. Wood and Beatty still carry a torch for one another, but circumstances preclude their getting together -- and besides, Wood suddenly realizes that she's outgrown the still-floundering Beatty. Scriptwriter William Inge shows up as a minister in Splendor in the Grass, while comedienne [[Performer~P19188~Phyllis Diller~phyllisdiller]] does a cameo as famed nightclub entertainer Texas Guinan; also, keep an eye out for [[Performer~P18627~Sandy Dennis~sandydennis]], making her first movie appearance. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Natalie Wood Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Natalie Wood Best Actress 1961 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Warren Beatty Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 1961 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Elia Kazan Best Director 1961 Nominee

Cast

Natalie Wood
as Wilma Dean Loomis
Warren Beatty
as Bud Stamper
Pat Hingle
as Ace Stamper
Zohra Lampert
as Angelina
Joanna Roos
as Mrs. Stamper
Jan Norris
as Juanita Howard
Gary Lockwood
as Toots
Sandy Dennis
as Kay
Crystal Field
as Hazel
Marla Adams
as June
Lynn Loring
as Carolyn
Martine Bartlett
as Miss Metcalf
Sean Garrison
as Glenn
Phyllis Diller
as Texas Guinan
Jake LaMotta
as Waiter
Phoebe Mackay
as Maid

Crew

Elia Kazan
Director
Elia Kazan
Producer
Boris Kaufman
Cinematographer
David Amram
Musical Direction/Supervision
David Amram
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Sylbert
Production Designer
Gene Callahan
Set Designer
George Tapps
Choreography
Robert Jiras
Makeup
Ulu Grosbard
Assistant Director
Advertisement