Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Sphere Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P99530~Barry Levinson~barrylevinson]] directed this $100+ million adaptation of [[Performer~P86220~Michael Crichton~michaelcrichton]]'s science fiction novel about the investigation of a half-mile-long spacecraft sitting on the South Pacific ocean floor. Government functionary Barnes ([[Performer~P15513~Peter Coyote~petercoyote]]) assembles a crack scientific team -- psychologist Dr. Norman Goodman ([[Performer~P94585~Dustin Hoffman~dustinhoffman]]), who wrote a presidential report on alien contact; biochemist Beth Halperin ([[Performer~P68496~Sharon Stone~sharonstone]]), once involved romantically with Goodman; mathematician Harry Adams ([[Performer~P34866~Samuel L. Jackson~samuelljackson]]); and astrophysicist Ted Fielding ([[Performer~P197753~Liev Schreiber~lievschreiber]]). After descending a thousand feet, they set up housekeeping at their underwater Habitat base, suit up, and enter the craft, finding evidence that it's a U.S. ship from the future. However, the craft's cargo of a shimmering, golden sphere is definitely alien. After Harry contrives to enter the sphere, Norman notes his odd behavior. When the Habitat computer system receives an email message from the sphere ("I am happy"), it's not long before the messages from this entity take a threatening turn ("I will kill you all"), triggering fears to surface along with violent attacks to the Habitat. The film is divided into chapters, such as "The Ride Down," "The First Exchange," and "The Monster." Shot on soundstages at the abandoned Mare Island Naval Shipyard (Vallejo, California), the effects combine animation, miniatures, prosthetics, animatronics, and digital images. Ed Asner reads the Sphere audiobook. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Cast

Dustin Hoffman
as Dr. Norman Goodman
Sharon Stone
as Beth Halperin
Samuel L. Jackson
as Harry Adams
Peter Coyote
as Barnes
Liev Schreiber
as Ted Fielding
Queen Latifah
as Fletcher
Marga Gomez
as Jane Edmunds

Crew

Barry Levinson
Director
Barry Levinson
Producer
Andrew Wald
Producer
Michael Crichton
Producer
Stephen Hauser
Screenwriter
Michael Crichton
Book Author
Kurt Wimmer
Screenwriter
Paul Attanasio
Screenwriter
Adam Greenberg
Cinematographer
Elliot Goldenthal
Composer (Music Score)
Stu Linder
Editor
Norman Reynolds
Production Designer
Mark Mansbridge
Art Director
Jonathan McKinstry
Art Director
Patricia Churchill
Associate Producer
Peter Giuliano
Executive Producer
Erin Kemp
Set Designer
Bill Beck
Set Designer
Anne Kuljian
Set Designer
Dawn Swiderski
Set Designer
Nancy Mickelberry
Set Designer
Nick Navarro
Set Designer
Gloria Gresham
Costume Designer
Richard Beggs
Sound/Sound Designer
Steve Cantamessa
Sound/Sound Designer
Katterli A. Frauenfelder
First Assistant Director
Robert Huberman
First Assistant Director
Cara Giallanza
First Assistant Director
Ellen Chenoweth
Casting
David R. Ellis
Second Unit Director
Gary Capo
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Advertisement