Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Speed Racer Details


masterminds Andy and Larry Wachowski usher anime icon Tatsuo Yoshida's classic 1960s-era hit into the new millennium with this family-friendly story of a young racecar driver who takes on the mysterious Racer X in a custom-made, gadget-loaded speed machine named the Mach 5. Speed Racer (Emile Hirsch) is the kind of driver that every wheelman wishes he could be: a born winner whose unbeatable combination of aggression, instinct, and fearlessness always finds him crossing the checkered flag with a comfortable lead. In Speed Racer's mind, the only driver who could present him with any real challenge is his late brother -- the legendary Rex Racer. Rex died in a heated cross-country rally known as The Crucible many years ago, and now his younger sibling is driven to fulfill the legacy that Rex left behind. To this day, Speed Racer is fiercely loyal to family. It was Speed Racer's father, Pops Racer (John Goodman), who designed the unbeatable Mach 5, and even a lucrative offer from racing giants Royalton Industries isn't enough to get the young ace to break his family ties. Upon turning down Royalton's (Roger Allam) astronomical offer, Speed Racer makes the shocking discovery that the outcomes of the biggest races are being predetermined by a handful of powerful moguls who pad their profits by manipulating the drivers. Realizing that his career would be ruined if word of the fix gets out, Royalton vows that the Mach 5 will never make it to another finish line. Now, the only way for Speed Racer to save the family business and beat Royalton at his own game will be to win the very same race that claimed his brother's life so many years ago. In order to accomplish that formidable feat, however, Speed Racer will not only have to rely on his family and the aid of his longtime girlfriend, Trixie (Christina Ricci), but form a tenuous alliance with his longtime rival -- the mysterious Racer X (Matthew Fox) -- as well. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:May 9, 2008


Emile Hirsch
as Speed
Christina Ricci
as Trixie
Susan Sarandon
as Mom
John Goodman
as Pops
Matthew Fox
as Racer X
Nicholas Elia
as Young Speed
Roger Allam
as Royalton
Melissa Holroyd
as Speed's Teacher
Paulie Litt
as Spritle
Ariel Winter
as Young Trixie
Benno Fürmann
as Inspector Detector
Hiroyuki Sanada
as Mr. Musha
as Taejo Togokahn
Richard Roundtree
as Ben Burns
Kick Gurry
as Sparky
Harvey Friedman
as Harold Ledermann Announcer
Sadao Ueda
as Japanese Announcer
John Benfield
as Cruncher Block
Valery Tscheplanowa
as Russian Announcer
Christian Oliver
as Snake Oiler
Nayo Wallace
as Minx
Moritz Bleibtreu
as Grey Ghost
Sami Loris
as Italian Announcer
Olivier Marlo
as French Announcer
Ashley Walters
as Prince Kabala
Sean McDonagh
as Celtic Announcer
Scott Porter
as Rex
Vinzenz Kiefer
as Crew Chief/Sempre Fi-Ber Driver
Mark Zak
as Blackjack Benelli
as Chim Chim
as Chim Chim
Julia Joyce
as Blonde Pack Leader
Clayton Nemrow
as Race Announcer
Ricky Watson
as Race Commentator
Brandon Robinson
as Big Mouth
Lauren Blake
as Flight Attendant
Ralph Herforth
as Cannonball Taylor
Waldemar Kobus
as Vinny - Cruncher Thug
Max Hopp
as Cruncher Thug
Julie T. Wallace
as Truck Driver
Stephen Marcus
as Security Goon
Art La Fleur
as Fuji Announcer
Peter Navy Tuiasosopo
as Fuji Announcer
Yu Nan
as Horuko
Paul Sirr
as Dour Face
Ramon Tikaram
as Casa Christo Announcer
Melvil Poupaud
as Johnny "Goodboy" Jones
Jana Pallaske
as Delila
Dari Maximova
as Flying Fox
Werner Daehn
as Sempre Fi-Ber Leader
Komi Togbonou
as Thor-azine Leader
Leila Rozario
as Hydro-cell Driver
Karl Yune
as Taejo Body Guard
Togo Igawa
as Mr. Togokahn
Anatole Taubman
as Fuji Reporter
Ben Miles
as Cass Jones
Frank Witter
as Security Official
Megan Gay
as Senior Race Official
Corinne Orr
as Grand Prix Female Announcer
Joe Mazza
as Nitro
Joon Park
as Yakuza Driver
Ludmilla Ismailow
as Denise
Milka Duno
as Gearbox
Amira Osman
as Count Down Tower Woman
Jens Neuhaus
as German Announcer
Sesede Terziyan
as Turkish Announcer
Ill-Young Kim
as Korean Announcer
Yuriri Naka
as Japanese Announcer
Oscar Ortega Sánchez
as Spanish Announcer
Yu Fang
as Chinese Announcer
Narges Rashidi
as Persian Announcer


Andy Wachowski
Larry Wachowski
Larry Wachowski
Andy Wachowski
Grant Hill
Joel Silver
Andy Wachowski
Larry Wachowski
David Tattersall
Jessica Alan
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Giacchino
Composer (Music Score)
Zach Staenberg
Roger Barton
Owen Paterson
Production Designer
Marco Bittner Rosser
Art Director
Sebastian Krawinkel
Art Director
Hugh Bateup
Supervising Art Director
Roberto Malerba
Carl L. Woebcken
Jessica Alan
Henning Molfenter
David Lane Seltzer
Executive Producer
Michael Lambert
Executive Producer
Grant Hill
Executive Producer
Bruce Berman
Executive Producer
Wolfgang Metschan
Set Designer
Kim Frederiksen
Set Designer
Peter Walpole
Set Decorator
Kym Barrett
Costume Designer
Ivan Sharrock
Sound/Sound Designer
Terry Needham
First Assistant Director
James McTeigue
First Assistant Director
Lucinda Syson
Lora Kennedy
Mohen Leo
Visual Effects Supervisor
Mark Freund
Visual Effects Supervisor
David Leitch
Stunts Coordinator
Geoffrey Niquet
Visual Effects Supervisor
John Gaeta
Visual Effects Supervisor
Dan Glass
Visual Effects Supervisor
Jake Morrison
Visual Effects Supervisor
Pierre Buffin
Visual Effects Supervisor
Kim Libreri
Visual Effects Supervisor
Marcus Loges
Line Producer
Harvey Harrison
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Chad Stahelski
Stunts Coordinator