Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Specialist Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This over-the-top star vehicle for box office draws [[Performer~P112464~Sylvester Stallone~sylvesterstallone]] and [[Performer~P68496~Sharon Stone~sharonstone]] went through a series of directors before landing in the hands of [[Performer~P99966~Luis Llosa~luisllosa]]. Stallone stars as Ray Quick, a former CIA bomb expert now retired in Miami after an operation against a South American drug lord went horribly wrong, resulting in the death of a child. Ray is coaxed out of retirement by May Munro (Stone) to help her get revenge on the powerful organized crime family -- headed up by Joe Leon ([[Performer~P67882~Rod Steiger~rodsteiger]]) and his son Tomas ([[Performer~P108473~Eric Roberts~ericroberts]]) -- that killed her parents years before. In the meantime, Ray's former partner Ned Trent ([[Performer~P117297~James Woods~jameswoods]]) is on the Leon family payroll and is seeking his own kind of revenge on Ray. As Ray executes Leon's soldiers one by one, his attraction to May boils over into a steamy encounter in the shower, a prelude to an explosive finale. Although director Llosa wisely kept his camera focused on his buff, semi-clad stars and the film's spectacular effects, the somewhat silly and incoherent plot resulted in a poor box office performance for The Specialist, the third disappointment in a row for Stone. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

Cast

Sylvester Stallone
as Ray Quick
Sharon Stone
as May Munro
James Woods
as Ned Trent
Rod Steiger
as Joe Leon
Eric Roberts
as Tomas Leon
Carmen More
as Cop #3
Victoria Bass
as Socialite
Bud Ekins
as Veteran Cop
Mercedes Enriquez
as Pregnant Woman on Bus
Mario Ernesto Sanchez
as Charlie
Antoni Corone
as Marksman
Tony Munafo
as Tony
Allan Graf
as Bus Driver
John Archie
as Cop #1
Gene Hartline
as Kitchen Thug #3
Mario Roberts
as Kitchen Thug #1
Chase Randolph
as May's Dad
Jackie Davis
as Grocery Store Owner
Alfredo Alvarez Calderon
as Bomb Expert
Jeff Moldovan
as Kitchen Thug #2

Crew

Luis Llosa
Director
Jerry Weintraub
Producer
Alexandra Seros
Screenwriter
Jeffrey Kimball
Cinematographer
Michael D. O'Shea
Cinematographer
John Barry
Composer (Music Score)
Andy Wiskes
Musical Direction/Supervision
Jack Hofstra
Editor
Walter Paul Martishius
Production Designer
Alan Muraoka
Art Director
R.J. Louis
Co-producer
Susan Ekins
Associate Producer
Tony Munafo
Associate Producer
Jeff Most
Executive Producer
Chuck Binder
Executive Producer
Steven Barron
Executive Producer
Judianna Makovsky
Costume Designer
Allan Graf
Stunts
Kathy Marshall
Stunts
Bob Apisa
Stunts
Chick Bernhardt
Stunts
Marc Macaulay
Stunts
Donna Evans
Stunts
Mark de Alessandro
Stunts
Steve Lambert
Stunts
Jackie Burch
Casting
Allan Graf
Second Unit Director
Scott Eddo
Makeup
Kevin Bartnof
Foley Artist
Advertisement