Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Speak Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Award-winning short filmmaker [[Performer~P386024~Jessica Sharzer~jessicasharzer]] makes her feature debut with the teen drama Speak, based on the young-adult novel by [[Performer~P386029~Laurie Halse Anderson~lauriehalseanderson]]. [[Performer~P297909~Kristen Stewart~kristenstewart]] stars as high school freshman Melinda, who has lost her ability to speak. Ever since a traumatic event that occurred at a party over the summer, she has chosen to remain silent. She's abandoned by her friends, while her mother Joyce ([[Performer~P56069~Elizabeth Perkins~elizabethperkins]]) is too wrapped up in her own problems to notice. By recalling the details of the past situation, it becomes clear that a date rape occurred. Yet no one has offered her support in order to deal with the psychological consequences. Eventually her art teacher Mr. Freeman ([[Performer~P212137~Steve Zahn~stevezahn]]) reaches out, helping her develop ways to express herself. Also starring [[Performer~P232506~Hallee Hirsh~halleehirsh]] and [[Performer~P300557~Eric Lively~ericlively]]. Speak premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in 2004 as part of the American Spectrum competition. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement

Other movies like this