Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Spaceballs Details


A space bum helps rescue a princess from an evil overlord with the help of a benevolent elder in this Star Wars send-up written and directed by Mel Brooks. Lone Starr (Bill Pullman) and his half-man, half-dog co-pilot, Barf the Mawg (John Candy), are content to scour the galaxy living the easy life. But they reluctantly come to the rescue when Druish Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga) is threatened by the evil Lord Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis), who wants to steal all of the air from her planet, Druidia. Trapped on a harsh desert world with Vespa and her robot chaperone, Dot Matrix (voice of Joan Rivers), Lone Starr and Barf are helpless to prevent Helmet from kidnapping the girl. But assistance arrives in the form of Yogurt (Brooks), a wizard who turns Lone Starr on to a mysterious power known as The Schwartz. Catching up with Helmet just as he's transforming his spaceship into a giant vacuum cleaner in orbit around Druidia, the reluctant heroes stage a dramatic showdown. Although it borrows most of its plot from the Star Wars series, Spaceballs also pokes fun at Star Trek, Snow White, and Planet of the Apes -- as well as the entire videocassette and movie marketing industries. The large supporting cast includes Dick Van Patten, Jim J. Bullock, and the voice of Dom DeLuise. John Hurt makes a cameo in a parody of the exploding chest scene he played in Alien. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

  • Release date:June 4, 1987


Mel Brooks
as President Skroob
Mel Brooks
as Yogurt
John Candy
as Barf the Mawg, Co-Pilot
Rick Moranis
as Lord Dark Helmet
Bill Pullman
as Lone Starr, Space Bum
Daphne Zuniga
as Princess Vespa
John Hurt
as Himself
Dick Van Patten
as King Roland, Ruler of Druidia
George Wyner
as Col. Sandurz
Michael Winslow
as Radar Technician
Joan Rivers
as Dot Matrix
Lorene Yarnell
as Dot Matrix, Droid Maid
Sal Viscuso
as Radio Operator
Ronny Graham
as Minister
Jim J. Bullock
as Prince Valium
Leslie Bevis
as Commanderette Zircon
Jim Jackman
as Maj. Asshole
Denise Gallup
as Charlene
Sandy Helberg
as Dr. Schlotkin
Jack Riley
as TV Newsman
Tom Dreeson
as Megamaid Guard
Rudy de Luca
as Vinnie
Deanna Booher
as Bearded Lady
Dom DeLuise
as Pizza the Hutt
Tommy Swerdlow
as Troop Leader
Stephen Tobolowsky
as Captain of the Guard
Rick Ducommun
as Prison Guard
Johnny Silver
as Caddy
Ken Olfson
as Head Usher
Ira Miller
as Short Order Cook
Mitchell Bock
as Video Operator
Arturo Gil
as The Dinks
Rhonda Shear
as Woman in Diner
Bryan O'Byrne
as Organist
Tony Cox
as The Dinks
Tim Russ
as Trooper
Brenda Strong
as Nurse
Michael Pniewski
as Laser Gunner
Robert Prescott
as Sand Cruiser Driver
Jeff MacGregor
as Snotty
Henry Kaiser
as Magnetic Beam Operator
Dey Young
as Waitress
Earl Finn
as Guard with Captain
Ed Gale
as Dink #1
Felix Silla
as The Dinks
Gail Barle
as Waitress


Mel Brooks
Mel Brooks
Mel Brooks
Thomas Meehan
Ronny Graham
Mel Brooks
Clyde Lieberman
Gloria Sklerov
Jeff Pescetto
Lenny Macaluso
Jon Bon Jovi
Nicholas C. Smith
Conrad Buff
Terence Marsh
Production Designer
Harold Michelson
Art Director
Dianne I. Wager
Art Director
Ezra Swerdlow
Gary Rydstrom
Sound/Sound Designer
Jeff Wexler
Sound/Sound Designer
Don Coufal
Sound/Sound Designer
Jim Stuebe
Sound/Sound Designer
Randy Thom
Sound/Sound Designer
Percy Angress
Special Effects
Rick Lazzarini
Special Effects
Grant McCune
Special Effects
Craig Boyajian
Special Effects
Dan Kolsrud
First Assistant Director
Michael D. O'Shea
Camera Operator
George Llerena
Camera Operator
Steve Bridge
Camera Operator
Jerry Pooler
Camera Operator
Jesse Wayne
Mike Washlake
Richard Warlock
Robert Latham Brown
Production Manager
Lynn Stalmaster
Anthony Goldschmidt
Title Design
Mat Beck
Motion Control Camera
Michael Van Himbergen
Production Coordinator
Mitchell Bock
Second Assistant Director
Paige Sartorius
Assistant Sound Editor
Jim Chesney
Transportation Coordinator
Joe Yanuzzi
First Assistant Editor
Julie Pitkanen
Script Supervisor
Ken Diaz
Ken Fischer
Sound Effects Editor
James Caverly
Production Assistant
Jay Ignaszewski
Associate Editor
Jellybean Benitez
Music Producer
Scott Chandler
Assistant Sound Editor
Syd Dutton
Matte Artist
Bill Shepard
Casting Director
Albert J. Whitlock
Matte Painting Supervisor
Richard Warlock
Stunts Coordinator
Richard Beggs
Re-Recording Mixer
Richard Gilligan
First Assistant Camera
Peter Donen
Special Effects Supervisor
Peter Gruskoff
Visual Effects
Peter Sorel
Still Photographer
Glad Pickering
Dialogue Editor
Gary Summers
Re-Recording Mixer
Alison Harstedt
Production Accountant
Ernie Fosselius
Sound Effects Editor
Eugene Marks
Music Editor
Tom Stern
Robert "Bobby Z" Zajonc
Tom Johnson
Foley Recordist
Bruce Ericksen
Costumes Supervisor
Charles Schlissel
Production Assistant
Chet Brooks
Transportation Captain
Clarinda Wong
First Assistant Editor
John E. Sullivan
Motion Control Camera
Cosmas Paul Bolger Jr.
First Assistant Camera
David Bergad
Assistant Sound Editor
David Slusser
Assistant Sound Editor
Debra Goldfield
First Assistant Editor
Dennie Thorpe
Foley Artist
Dennis Parrish
Properties Master
Dione Taylor
Hair Styles