Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Southland Tales Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

California is at the epicenter of a political and environmental disaster that threatens to destroy the world in this ambitious fusion of comedy, drama, dystopian science fiction, and music from writer and director [[Performer~P299369~Richard Kelly~richardkelly]], his first film after gaining a cult following with [[Feature~V237115~Donnie Darko~donniedarko]]. In the year 2005, a nuclear attack wipes out part of the state of Texas, and three years later America is a virtual police state, with the government taking control of nearly every part of people's lives, supposedly for their own good. A German firm has found a way to generate energy using seawater, but both public and private concerns are desperate to prevent the new technology from being introduced in the gasoline-starved United States. A Marxist underground based on the West Coast is determined to bring down the federal government through violent revolution.In this midst of this chaos, we follow a number of stories that continually return to three principle characters. Boxer Santaros ([[Performer~P292998~Dwayne Johnson~therock]], aka [[Performer~P292998~The Rock~therock]]) is an actor famous for his role in action films; he's trying to secure financing for a new project, but reality keeps mirroring the events in his script and he struggles to hold on to his identity following a bout with amnesia. Krysta Now ([[Performer~P26360~Sarah Michelle Gellar~sarahmichellegellar]]) is a porn star who is reinventing herself as a television pundit offering her views on politics, contemporary culture, and teenage sex. And Roland Taverner ([[Performer~P270525~Seann William Scott~seannwilliamscott]]) is an L.A. police officer whose identity has mysteriously split in two, and he struggles to track down his other half. Featuring a massive supporting cast which includes [[Performer~P292631~Mandy Moore~mandymoore]], [[Performer~P60083~Miranda Richardson~mirandarichardson]], [[Performer~P64973~Wallace Shawn~wallaceshawn]], [[Performer~P43478~Jon Lovitz~jonlovitz]], [[Performer~P111916~Kevin Smith~kevinsmith]], [[Performer~P273694~Amy Poehler~amypoehler]], and [[Performer~P277738~Justin Timberlake~justintimberlake]], Southland Tales received its world premiere at the 2006 Cannes Film Festival; director [[Performer~P299369~Kelly~richardkelly]] also created an accompanying series of three graphic novels that chart these events and characters prior to this story. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 14, 2007

Cast

Dwayne Johnson
as Boxer Santaros
Seann William Scott
as Roland Taverner/Ronald Taverner
Sarah Michelle Gellar
as Krysta Kapowski/Krysta Now
Curtis Armstrong
as Dr. Soberin Exx
Nora Dunn
as Cyndi Pinziki
Michele Durrett
as Starla Von Luft
Beth Grant
as Dr. Inga Von Westphalen/Marion Card
Wood Harris
as Dion Warner/Dion Element
John Larroquette
as Vaughn Smallhouse
Bai Ling
as Serpentine
Jon Lovitz
as Bart Bookman
Mandy Moore
as Madeline Frost Santaros
Holmes Osborne
as Senator Bobby Frost
Cheri Oteri
as Zora Charmichaels
Amy Poehler
as Veronica Mung/Dream
Lou Taylor Pucci
as Martin Kefauver
Miranda Richardson
as Nana Mae Frost
Jill Ritchie
as Shoshana Kapowski/Shoshana Cox
Zelda Rubinstein
as Dr. Katarina Kuntzler
Will Sasso
as Fortunio Balducci
Wallace Shawn
as Baron Von Westphalen
Sab Shimono
as Hideo Takehashi
Kevin Smith
as Simon Theory
Justin Timberlake
as Private Pilot Abilene
Lisa K. Wyatt
as Teri Riley
Christopher Lambert

Crew

Richard Kelly
Director
Sean McKittrick
Producer
Bo Hyde
Producer
Kendall Morgan
Producer
Judd Payne
Producer
Matthew Rhodes
Producer
Richard Kelly
Screenwriter
Steven Poster
Cinematographer
Manish Raval
Musical Direction/Supervision
Sam Bauer
Editor
Alexander Hammond
Production Designer
Dara Weintraub
Co-producer
Wolfgang Schamburg
Associate Producer
Ernst-August Schnieder
Associate Producer
Katarina K. Hyde
Executive Producer
Oliver Hengst
Executive Producer
Jim Seibel
Executive Producer
Matthew Rhodes
Executive Producer
Edward H. Hamm, Jr.
Executive Producer
Judd Payne
Executive Producer
April Ferry
Costume Designer
Peter Devlin
Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Cotone
First Assistant Director
Mary Vernieu
Casting
Venus Kanani
Casting
Tim Trella
Second Unit Director
Thomas Tannenberger
Visual Effects Supervisor
Advertisement