Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The most tasteless third graders on television graduate to the big screen, as [[Performer~P55140~Trey Parker~treyparker]] and [[Performer~P231851~Matt Stone~mattstone]] expand their animated series with foul-mouthed humor that might breach the boundaries of basic cable. In the small Colorado town of South Park, good-natured Stan Marsh, slightly neurotic Kyle Broflovski, fat and petulant Eric Cartman, and perpetually doomed Kenny McCormick are psyched for the premiere of the first feature film from flatulent Canadian TV performers Terrance and Phillip, entitled "Asses of Fire." The movie is rated R, but that's not about to stop the boys from sneaking into the theater. However, when the boys' language gets bluer by the minute after seeing the film, their parents and school administrators decide that something must be done. Kyle's mother comes up with the ideal solution: blame Canada. Terrance and Phillip end up in jail for corrupting America's youth, while the Canadian Air Force retaliates with an air strike targeting the Baldwin brothers. The boys soon organize a children's underground resistance force to free Terrance and Phillip before they can be executed; meanwhile, in a sensitive subplot exploring relationship issues, we're permitted an inside look at the domestic problems of Satan and his lover, [[Performer~P34122~Saddam Hussein~saddamhussein]]. As on the TV show, [[Performer~P55140~Parker~treyparker]] and [[Performer~P231851~Stone~mattstone]] perform the voices of most of the characters, and they also wrote several songs for the film; [[Performer~P13722~George Clooney~georgeclooney]], [[Performer~P199950~Minnie Driver~minniedriver]], [[Performer~P95365~Eric Idle~ericidle]], [[Performer~P24071~Dave Foley~davefoley]], and [[Performer~P213433~Mike Judge~mikejudge]] contribute voices. Not to spoil the plot, but rumor has it that Kenny dies. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 30, 1999

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Marc Shaiman Best Music Score 1999 Winner
Chicago Film Critics Association Marc Shaiman Best Original Score 1999 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Marc Shaiman Best Original Song 1999 Nominee
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Trey Parker Best Music Score 1999 Winner
Chicago Film Critics Association Trey Parker Best Original Score 1999 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Trey Parker Best Original Song 1999 Nominee

Cast

Trey Parker
as Eric Cartman
Trey Parker
as Mr. Garrison
Trey Parker
as Mr. Hat
Trey Parker
as Officer Barb
Trey Parker
as Stan Marsh
Matt Stone
as Kyle Broflovski/Kenny McCormick
Mary Kay Bergman
as Mrs. Cartman
Mary Kay Bergman
as Mrs. McCormick
Mary Kay Bergman
as Sharon Manson
Mary Kay Bergman
as Sheila Broflovski
Isaac Hayes
as Chef

Crew

Trey Parker
Director
Trey Parker
Producer
Matt Stone
Producer
Matt Stone
Screenwriter
Trey Parker
Screenwriter
Pam Brady
Screenwriter
Marc Shaiman
Composer (Music Score)
Marc Shaiman
Songwriter
Trey Parker
Songwriter
Deborah Liebling
Co-producer
Frank C. Agnone II
Co-producer
Anne Garefino
Co-producer
Mark Roybal
Associate Producer
Adam Schroeder
Executive Producer
Scott Rudin
Executive Producer
Bruce Howell
Sound/Sound Designer
Ana Wolovick
Supervisor/Manager
Martin Cendreda
Animator
Eric Stough
Animation Director
Gina Shay
Line Producer
Advertisement