Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Son of Fury Details


This period swashbuckler film is based on the adventure novel Benjamin Blake by Edison Marshall, who also wrote Edison Marshall (1958). When his brother dies, scheming Arthur Blake (George Sanders) kidnaps his own nephew, Benjamin (played as a youth by Roddy McDowall and as an adult by Tyrone Power). Arthur's purpose is to claim his brother's dukedom for himself. Put to work as a stable boy, Benjamin grows up and develops a crush on his own cousin Isabel (Frances Farmer). When Arthur discovers this, he mercilessly beats Benjamin, who runs away and sails to India on a cargo ship to make his fortune. In Polynesia, he and a friend, Caleb (John Carradine), jump ship and set up camp on a tropical island paradise. There, Benjamin and Caleb become rich mining pearls, while Benjamin falls in love with a native girl, Eve (Gene Tierney). Now that he has amassed wealth, however, Benjamin is determined to return to England and get his revenge on Uncle Arthur. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi


Tyrone Power
as Benjamin Blake
Gene Tierney
as Eve
George Sanders
as Sir Arthur Blake
Frances Farmer
as Isabel Blake
Roddy McDowall
as Benjamin as a Boy
John Carradine
as Caleb Greene
Elsa Lanchester
as Bristol Isabel
Harry Davenport
as Amos Kidder
Kay Johnson
as Helena Blake
Dudley Digges
as Bartholomew Pratt
Pedro de Cordoba
as Fennou
Marten Lamont
as Kenneth Hobart
Harry Cording
as Turnkey
Mae Marsh
as Mrs. Purdy
Virginia Gilmore
Heather Thatcher
as Maggie Martin
Marilyn Knowlden
as Isabel as a Girl
Clifford Severn
as Paddy
Cyril McLaglen
as Gimes
Lester Matthews
as Prosecutor
James Craven
as Guard
Olaf Hytten
as Court Clerk
Robert Greig
as Judge
Clive Morgan
as Lord St. George
Dennis Hoey
as Lord Tarrant
Halliwell Hobbes
as Purdy
Arthur Hohl
as Capt. Greenough
Leonard Carey
as Pale Tom
Ethel Griffies
as Matron
Charles Irwin
as Captain


John Cromwell
Darryl F. Zanuck
Edison Marshall
Book Author
Philip Dunne
Arthur C. Miller
Alfred Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Alfred Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Walter Thompson
Richard Day
Art Director
James Basevi
Art Director
William Perlberg
Associate Producer
Gwen Wakeling
Costume Designer
Roger Heman
Sound/Sound Designer
Eugene Grossman
Sound/Sound Designer