Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Someone to Love Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P116368~Orson Welles~orsonwelles]] made his final screen appearance as, appropriately enough, [[Performer~P116368~Orson Welles~orsonwelles]] (or "Danny's Friend") in [[Performer~P95778~Henry Jaglom~henryjaglom]]'s "emotional vérité" comedy Someone to Love. The film begins as filmmaker Danny ([[Performer~P95778~Henry Jaglom~henryjaglom]]) prepares to spend the night at his girlfriend Helen ([[Performer~P45363~Andrea Marcovicci~andreamarcovicci]])'s apartment. Helen has just adjusted to sleeping alone after the breakup of her previous relationship and tells Danny that if he stays with her, she won't be able to go to sleep. Fascinated by the explanation, Danny sends out telegrams to a bunch of his Hollywood friends to meet on Valentine's Day at a Santa Monica theater, the Mayfair, that is about to be torn down to make way for a shopping mall. Danny figures that he will throw a party for his lonely celebrity friends. He also reasons that he could introduce his brother, real estate developer Mickey ([[Performer~P21810~Michael Emil~michaelemil]], Jaglom's real-life brother), to some romantic companions. The party would also be a handy way to get some film footage. The day of the party, Danny's friends arrive --a famous movie star ([[Performer~P37443~Sally Kellerman~sallykellerman]]); a pop singer named Blue ([[Performer~P81946~Stephen Bishop~stephenbishop]]); a jazz pianist ([[Performer~P90640~David Frishberg~davidfrishberg]]); a sophisticated continental woman named Yelena ([[Performer~P38923~Oja Kodar~ojakodar]]); and, bringing up the rear and ensconced in the back of the theater, Danny's Friend ([[Performer~P116368~Orson Welles~orsonwelles]]). With his camera crew in tow, Danny takes to filming his guests as they answer questions about love and loneliness. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:April 21, 1988

Cast

Orson Welles
as Danny's Friend
Henry Jaglom
as Danny Sapir
Andrea Marcovicci
as Helen Eugene
Michael Emil
as Mickey Sapir
Sally Kellerman
as Edith Helm
Oja Kodar
as Yelena
David Frishberg
as Harry

Crew

Henry Jaglom
Director
M.H. Simonson
Producer
Judith Wolinsky
Producer
Henry Jaglom
Screenwriter
Hanania Baer
Cinematographer
David Frishberg
Songwriter
Ira Gershwin
Featured Music
Jerome Kern
Featured Music
Judith Wolinsky
Associate Producer
Sunny Meyer
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement