Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Solomon Kane Details


A nomadic 16th century warrior, condemned to hell for his brutal past, seeks redemption by renouncing violence, but finds some things are worth burning for as he fights to free a young Puritan woman from the grip of evil. Adapted from the pulpy sword-and-sorcery stories by Conan the Barbarian creator [[Performer~P167176~Robert E. Howard~robertehoward]], the film opens to find Solomon Kane ([[Performer~P123925~James Purefoy~jamespurefoy]]) and his ruthless band of marauders laying siege to a city in Northern Africa. Beckoned to an enigmatic castle filled with untold riches, Kane soon realizes that his greed has sealed his fate when the Devil's minions decimate his ranks, leaving him alone to battle the infernal Reaper ([[Performer~P409093~Ian Whyte~ianwhyte]]) that has come to claim his tainted soul. But Kane cheats death, and upon escaping, learns that his only hope to avoid being cast into the lake of fire is to walk the path of peace. Meanwhile, as Kane makes his way across England, the sinister Overlord ([[Performer~P563180~Samuel Roukin~samuelroukin]]) uses his ruthless Raiders to seize control of the country, killing for pleasure and striking terror into the hearts of peaceful Puritans like the Crowthorns -- who generously offered Kane food and shelter on his arduous journey. When the Crowthorns are brutally laid to waste by the Raiders, who subsequently kidnap and enslave their innocent daughter Meredith ([[Performer~P360271~Rachel Hurd-Wood~rachelhurdwood]]), Kane vows to rescue her and prevent England from being consumed by evil, even if it means confronting his family's dark past and sacrificing his immortal soul in the process. [[Performer~P57436~Pete Postlethwaite~petepostlethwaite]] and [[Performer~P69424~Max von Sydow~maxvonsydow]] co-star. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:September 28, 2012


James Purefoy
as Solomon Kane
Max von Sydow
as Josiah Kane
Pete Postlethwaite
as William Crowthorn
Rachel Hurd-Wood
as Meredith Crowthorn
Mackenzie Crook
as Michael
Philip Winchester
as Telford
Jason Flemyng
as Malachi
Alice Krige
as Katherine Crowthorn
Patrick Hurd-Wood
as Samuel Crowthorn
Frantisek Deak
as Cowering Guard
Ian Whyte
as Devil's Reaper
James Babson
as Skinhead
Marek Vasut
as Tattoo
Geoff Bell
as Beard
Samuel Roukin
as Marcus Kane/Overlord
Matthew Stirling
as Eye Patch
Curtis Matthew
as Old Man
Mike McGuffie
as Another Raider
Philip Waley
as Drunk
Gordon Truefitt
as Stable Master
David Listvan
as Gilligan
Jiri Kraus
as Smith
Tomas Tobola
as Hawkstone
Ben Steel
as Fletcher
Rory McCann
as McNess
Amy Huck
as Prisoner


Michael J. Bassett
Paul Berrow
Kevan Van Thompson
Samuel Hadida
Michael J. Bassett
Dan Laustsen
Klaus Badelt
Composer (Music Score)
Andrew MacRitchie
Ricky Eyres
Production Designer
David Baxa
Supervising Art Director
Ray McNeill
Art Director
Philip Waley
Kevan Van Thompson
Victor Hadida
Executive Producer
Michael Berrow
Executive Producer
Lee Gordon
Set Decorator
John Bloomfield
Costume Designer
Mark Taylor
First Assistant Director
Vaclav Mottl
Production Manager
Ros Hubbard
John Hubbard
Polly Hope
Production Coordinator
Lee Walpole
Sound Effects Editor
Verity Wislocki
Post Production Coordinator
Jarda Peterka
Stunts Coordinator
Stefan Henrix
Supervising Sound Editor
Alisa Buckley
Unit Publicist
Graham Headicar
Sound Effects Editor
Pavel Sagner
Special Effects Supervisor
Howard Bargroff
Re-Recording Mixer
Philip Waley
Line Producer
Stephen Elson
Visual Effects Producer
Martin Jensen
Re-Recording Mixer
Michael Saxton
Post Production Supervisor
Jiri Zucek
Properties Master
Tomas Belohradsky
Production Sound Mixer
Sarka Zvolenska
Costumes Supervisor
Paul Pattison
Hair Designer
Paul Pattison
Makeup Designer
Tim Field
Visual Effects Producer
Laurens Ehrmann
Visual Effects Supervisor
Paul Hamblin
Re-Recording Mixer
Jack Whittaker
Sound Effects Editor
Chris Capell
Visual Effects Producer