Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Smoke Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A Brooklyn cigar shop is the setting for this drama from director [[Performer~P115928~Wayne Wang~waynewang]] that interweaves the stories of several characters that have fractured family relationships in common. [[Performer~P37381~Harvey Keitel~harveykeitel]] is Auggie Wren, poetic owner of the Brooklyn Cigar Company, a store that he considers the center of the world -- a place where all of humanity eventually parades through. One of his regular customers is Paul Benjamin ([[Performer~P34104~William Hurt~williamhurt]]), a writer and a broken shell of a man whose pregnant wife was shot and killed near the store. When Paul's life is saved one day by a young black man named Rashid ([[Performer~P149178~Harold Perrineau, Jr.~haroldperrineaujr]], the writer and his rescuer strike up a friendship and begin searching for Rashid's long-lost father ([[Performer~P116578~Forest Whitaker~forestwhitaker]]). At the store, Auggie is surprised by the appearance of Ruby ([[Performer~P12304~Stockard Channing~stockardchanning]]), an ex-girlfriend who informs him that her pregnant, drug-addicted daughter Felicity ([[Performer~P36453~Ashley Judd~ashleyjudd]]) may also be his -- and is in dire need of help. Screenwriter [[Performer~P188298~Paul Auster~paulauster]] based the script for Smoke on a 1990 short story he wrote for "The New York Times." He also wrote and directed the film's sequel (of sorts), [[Feature~V134319~Blue in the Face~blueintheface]] (1995). ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:June 9, 1995

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Berlin International Film Festival Harvey Keitel Silver Bear - Special Jury Prize 1995 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Paul Auster Best First Screenplay 1995 Winner
Screen Actors Guild Stockard Channing Best Supporting Actress 1995 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Harold Perrineau, Jr. Best Supporting Actor 1995 Nominee

Cast

William Hurt
as Paul Benjamin
Harvey Keitel
as Auggie Wren
Forest Whitaker
as Cyrus Cole
Harold Perrineau, Jr.
as Thomas (Rashid) Cole
Victor Argo
as Vinnie
Erica Gimpel
as Doreen Cole
Baxter Harris
as First coroner
Stockard Channing
as Ruby
Ashley Judd
as Felicity
Murray Moston
as Waiter
Clarice Taylor
as Grandma Ethel
Giancarlo Esposito
as Tommy
Mary Ward
as April Lee
Mel Gorham
as Violetta
Michelle Hurst
as Aunt Em
Jared Harris
as Jimmy Rose
Deirdre O'Connell
as Waitress
Peggy Gormley
as Sue
RuPaul
as A dancer
Malik Yoba
as The Skunk
Paul Geier
as Second coroner
John Lurie
as A musician
José Zuñiga
as Jerry

Crew

Wayne Wang
Director
Hisami Kuroiwa
Producer
Peter Newman
Producer
Greg Johnson
Producer
Diana Phillips
Producer
Paul Auster
Screenwriter
Adam Holender
Cinematographer
Rachel Portman
Composer (Music Score)
Maysie Hoy
Editor
Christopher Tellefsen
Editor
Kalina Ivanov
Production Designer
Jeff McDonald
Art Director
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
Satoru Iseki
Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Chuck Keehne
Costume Designer
Claudia Brown
Costume Designer
Drew Kunin
Sound/Sound Designer
Billy Hopkins
Casting
Heidi Levitt
Casting
Paul Auster
Short Story Author
Advertisement