Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Small Soldiers Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P16940~Joe Dante~joedante]] directed this satirical action-comedy about talking tech toys accidentally juiced-up with military microchips. After the defense industry firm Globotech takes over a small toy company, Heartland Play Systems' CEO Gil Mars ([[Performer~P41244~Denis Leary~denisleary]]) gives the green light to develop a new line of action figures, requesting an upgrade to more realistic figures from Heartland toy designers Larry Benson ([[Performer~P215840~Jay Mohr~jaymohr]]) and fumbling Irwin Wayfair ([[Performer~P263866~David Cross~davidcross]]). Mars wants toys that act like the ones in TV commercials. The results are fierce fighting figures, the Commando Elite, programmed to seek out and destroy the kindly alien-like Gorgonites. In an effort to make the toys as natural as possible, Benson inserts Globotech's most powerful military computer chips. Meanwhile, in quiet Winslow Corners, Ohio, toy-store owner Stuart Abernathy ([[Performer~P20623~Kevin Dunn~kevindunn]]) and his 15-year-old son Alan ([[Performer~P153144~Gregory Smith~gregorysmith]]) are stuck in a failing business, so when Heartland truckdriver Joe ([[Performer~P49213~Dick Miller~dickmiller]]) stops by with the Commando and Gorgonite toys, Alan is convinced they will be hot sellers, commenting, "Maybe this store will finally make a little money." With blistering blows to their blister packs, the Commandos burst out, receive orders from their leader Chip Hazard (voice of [[Performer~P36238~Tommy Lee Jones~tommyleejones]]) and ready for an all-out assault on the Gorgonites. When the Gorgonite leader Archer (voice of [[Performer~P40453~Frank Langella~franklangella]]) begins communicating with Alan, it causes the Commandos to perceive humans as another enemy, simply by their association with the "Gorgonite scum," so an attack on the Abernathy house begins. Unfortunately, the Gorgonites can offer only limited assistance, since they have been programmed to lose. The film combines animatronics, puppetry, and computer animation. The Commando Elite voices include surviving actors from [[Performer~P79278~Robert Aldrich~robertaldrich]]'s [[Feature~V13877~The Dirty Dozen~thedirtydozen]] (1967), while the Gorgonite voices reunited several [[Feature~V49553~This Is Spinal Tap~thisisspinaltap]] (1983) cast members. A dedication to [[Performer~P221362~Phil Hartman~philhartman]] (the voice of Phil Fimple) after the closing credits features a brief [[Performer~P221362~Hartman~philhartman]] outtake. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:July 10, 1998

Cast

Kirsten Dunst
as Christy Fimple
Gregory Smith
as Alan Abernathy
Jay Mohr
as Larry Benson
Phil Hartman
as Phil Fimple
Kevin Dunn
as Stuart Abernathy
Denis Leary
as Gil Mars
David Cross
as Irwin Wayfair
Ann Magnuson
as Irene Abernathy
Wendy Schaal
as Marion Fimble
Alexandra Wilson
as Ms. Kegel
Dick Miller
as Joe
Robert Picardo
as Ralph
Tommy Lee Jones
as Maj. Chip Hazard
Frank Langella
as Archer
Ernest Borgnine
as Kip Killagin
Jim Brown
as Butch Meathook
Bruce Dern
as Link Static
George Kennedy
as Brick Bazooka
Clint Walker
as Nick Nitro
Christopher Guest
as Slamfist
Christopher Guest
as Scratch-It
Michael McKean
as Insaniac / Freakenstein
Harry Shearer
as Punch-It
Sarah Michelle Gellar
as Gwendys Doll
Christina Ricci
as Gwendys Doll

Crew

Joe Dante
Director
Michael Finnell
Producer
Ted Elliott
Screenwriter
Gavin Scott
Screenwriter
Adam Rifkin
Screenwriter
Terry Rossio
Screenwriter
Jamie Anderson
Cinematographer
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Henry Rollins
Songwriter
Marshall Harvey
Editor
William Sandell
Production Designer
Mark Mansbridge
Art Director
Paul Deason
Co-producer
Walter Parkes
Executive Producer
Carole Brown-James
Costume Designer
Benita Allen-Honess
First Assistant Director
Denise Chamian
Casting
Al Laverde
Key Grip
Advertisement