Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Slightly French Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P111684~Douglas Sirk~douglassirk]]'s love of cinematic esoterica was kept in check in the musical comedy Slightly French. [[Performer~P40193~Dorothy Lamour~dorothylamour]] stars as Mary O'Leary, a carnival entertainer who's discovered by enterprising director John Gayle ([[Performer~P1323~Don Ameche~donameche]]). The plot dictates that Gayle must pass off Mary as an elegant Parisian actress/singer. This slender plotline enables the film to toss off a number of satirical quips about show biz, and to display Lamour in a variety of exotic costumes. The best musical numbers occur during an extended film-within-a-film sequence. Slightly French is buoyed by its expert supporting cast, including [[Performer~P11427~Janis Carter~janiscarter]], [[Performer~P55144~Willard Parker~willardparker]] and [[Performer~P35552~Adele Jergens~adelejergens]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Dorothy Lamour
as Mary O'Leary
Don Ameche
as John Gayle
Janis Carter
as Louisa Gayle
Willard Parker
as Douglas Hyde
Adele Jergens
as Yvonne La Tour
Jeanne Manet
as Nicolette
Frank Ferguson
as Marty Freeman
Myron Healey
as Stevens
Leonard Carey
as Wilson
Earl Hodgins
as Barker
Hal K. Dawson
as Director
William Bishop
as J.B.
Pierre Watkin
as Publicity man
Fred Sears
as Cameraman
Frank Wilcox
as Starr
Will Stanton
as Cockney barker
Patricia Barry
as Hilda
Charles Jordan
as Studio Policeman
Carolyn Hughes
as Secretary
Al Hill
as Brazilian barker
Frank Mayo
as Soundman

Crew

Douglas Sirk
Director
Irving Starr
Producer
Charles Lawton
Cinematographer
Morris W. Stoloff
Composer (Music Score)
Morris W. Stoloff
Musical Direction/Supervision
George Duning
Composer (Music Score)
George Duning
Musical Direction/Supervision
Jean Louis
Costume Designer
Robert Sidney
Choreography
Advertisement