Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Sleepers Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P99530~Barry Levinson~barrylevinson]] directed this crime drama based on a controversial bestseller. [[Performer~P55385~Jason Patrick~jasonpatric]] stars as Lorenzo, a New York reporter more commonly called "Shakes," a nickname courtesy of his three childhood pals from Hell's Kitchen -- Michael ([[Performer~P56988~Brad Pitt~bradpitt]]), John ([[Performer~P21476~Ron Eldard~roneldard]]), and Tommy ([[Performer~P223041~Billy Crudup~billycrudup]]). As kids, all four were sent to reform school after accidentally killing someone during a cruel prank. There, the boys were raped and beaten by several guards, including Sean Nokes ([[Performer~P3164~Kevin Bacon~kevinbacon]]), a fact that they've kept secret into adulthood. Michael is now a rising star in the district attorney's office, while John and Tommy are founders of the Irish gang the Westies. When Nokes walks into John and Tommy's hangout, they kill him in cold blood and go on trial, defended by a drug-addicted lawyer ([[Performer~P94585~Dustin Hoffman~dustinhoffman]]). Michael and Shakes conspire with childhood friend Carol ([[Performer~P199950~Minnie Driver~minniedriver]]) and local priest Father Bobby ([[Performer~P17593~Robert DeNiro~robertdeniro]]) to free their friends and get even with the surviving guards. Based on a true story chronicled by Lorenzo Carcaterra in his novel of the same name, Sleepers stirred controversy when the veracity of the book was challenged by reporters who could find no documentation of the events described. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:October 18, 1996

Cast

Kevin Bacon
as Sean Nokes
Robert De Niro
as Father Bobby
Billy Crudup
as Tommy Marcano
Dustin Hoffman
as Danny Snyder
Jason Patric
as Lorenzo, a.k.a. Shakes
Bruno Kirby
as Shakes' Father
Vittorio Gassman
as King Benny
Brad Pitt
as Michael
Minnie Driver
as Carol
Ron Eldard
as John
Brad Renfro
as Young Michael Sullivan
Wendell Pierce
as Little Caesar
Aida Turturro
as Mrs Salinas
Terry Kinney
as Ferguson
Jeffrey Donovan
as Addison
Larry Romano
as 1st Man
Michael P. Moran
as Juvenile Judge
Saverio Guerra
as 2nd Man
Joe Perrino
as Young Shakes
James Pickens, Jr.
as Marlboro
Dash Mihok
as K.C.
Joe Urla
as Carson
Tom Signorelli
as Confession Man
Eugene Byrd
as Rizzo
Henry Stram
as Prison Doctor
Jonathan Tucker
as Young Tommy
Frank Medrano
as Fat Mancho
William Butler
as Juanito
Peter Appel
as Boyfriend
John Slattery
as Fred Carlson
Ben Hammer
as Judge Weisman

Crew

Barry Levinson
Director
Barry Levinson
Producer
Steve Golin
Producer
Barry Levinson
Screenwriter
Lorenzo Carcaterra
Book Author
Michael Ballhaus
Cinematographer
Allan Mason
Musical Direction/Supervision
John Williams
Composer (Music Score)
Stu Linder
Editor
Kristi Zea
Production Designer
Peter Giuliano
Executive Producer
Gloria Gresham
Costume Designer
Louis Di Giaimo
Casting
Advertisement