Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Skyjacked Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Sky Terror is the reissue title for Skyjacked, a 1972 MGM all-star adventure based on a novel by [[Performer~P310211~David Harper~davidharper]]. [[Performer~P94233~Charlton Heston~charltonheston]] mans the controls of a Los Angeles-bound commercial airliner which is hijacked to Russia by an unknown miscreant. Even when the skyjacker, revealed to be passenger [[Performer~P8656~James Brolin~jamesbrolin]], is subsequently subdued, the crew must contend with a hidden time bomb. The film is graced with a who's who of MGM contractees past and present, including [[Performer~P49451~Yvette Mimieux~yvettemimieux]], [[Performer~P56729~Walter Pidgeon~walterpidgeon]] and [[Performer~P94076~Mike Henry~mikehenry]]. A flashback sequence contains one of the first examples of an American film coming to grips with how rudely our Vietnam veterans were ignored upon returning home; alas, this compassion quickly degenerates into the odious "crazed Vietnam vet" cliche. Footnote: The first network showing of Skyjacked was boycotted by TV stations owned by the Storer Corporation, which had a hard and fast rule against screening any film concerning a hijacked plane. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Charlton Heston
as Henry O'Hara
Yvette Mimieux
as Angela Thacher
James Brolin
as Jerome K. Weber
Claude Akins
as Sgt. Ben Puzo
Jeanne Crain
as Mrs. Clara Shaw
Susan Dey
as Elly Brewster
Ross Elliott
as Harold Shaw
Ken Swofford
as John Bimonte
Jack Denbo
as Thompson
John Fiedler
as Robert Grundig
Roy Engel
as Bonanza Pilot
William Martel
as General
Forrest Wood
as 1st Class Passenger
Craig Shreeve
as Airline Attendant
Joe Canutt
as Hunter
Jenifer Shaw
as Cosmetic Sales Girl
Nicholas Hammond
as Peter Lindner
Mariette Hartley
as Harriet Stevens
Walter Pidgeon
as Sen. Arne Lindner
Mike Henry
as Sam Allen
Toni Clayton
as Jane Burke
Jayson Kane
as William Reading
John Hillerman
as Walter Brandt
Kelley Miles
as Hazel Martin
Leslie Uggams
as Lovejoy Wells
Lorna Thayer
as Weber's Mother
Maureen Connell
as Mrs. O'Hara
Dan White
as Weber's Father

Crew

John Guillermin
Director
Walter Seltzer
Producer
Harry Stradling, Jr.
Cinematographer
Robert Swink
Editor
Edward C. Carfagno
Art Director
Jack Bear
Costume Designer
Ralph Swartz
Special Effects
Dick Moder
First Assistant Director
James W. Gavin
Second Unit Director
Advertisement