Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Six Degrees of Separation Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Two socialites find their view of the world changed when a young man takes advantage of their preconceptions in this thoughtful comedy-drama. Flan and Ouisa Kittredge ([[Performer~P69192~Donald Sutherland~donaldsutherland]] and [[Performer~P12304~Stockard Channing~stockardchanning]]) are a married couple who have built highly successful careers as art dealers catering to Manhattan's upper crust. The Kittredges are entertaining friends one evening when a young black man named Paul ([[Performer~P66596~Will Smith~willsmith]]) appears at their door. Paul says that he's a close friend of their children, with whom he attended boarding school, and he's just been mugged and needs to get off the street for a moment. Flan and Ouisa invite him in, and they are immediately taken by Paul's intelligence and charm; he offers to prepare dinner, regales them with stories about his father, [[Performer~P106725~Sidney Poitier~sidneypoitier]], and ends up spending the night at their apartment. However, the next morning Flan and Ouisa discover that they've been had; Paul is actually a con artist from the streets who has been pulling the wool over the eyes of many of their friends -- and his actions are beginning to have serious consequences. [[Performer~P92779~John Guare~johnguare]] adapted the script from his own successful stage play; the supporting cast includes [[Performer~P47684~Ian McKellen~ianmckellen]], [[Performer~P34101~Mary Beth Hurt~marybethhurt]], [[Performer~P17454~Bruce Davison~brucedavison]], and [[Performer~P28094~Heather Graham~heathergraham]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 8, 1993

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Society of Film Critics John Guare Best Screenplay (Runner-up) 1993 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Stockard Channing Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1993 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stockard Channing Best Actress 1993 Nominee

Cast

Stockard Channing
as Ouisa Kittredge
Will Smith
as Paul
Donald Sutherland
as Flan Kittredge
Ian McKellen
as Geoffrey
Mary Beth Hurt
as Kitty
Bruce Davison
as Larkin
Richard Masur
as Dr. Fine
Anthony Michael Hall
as Trent Conway
Heather Graham
as Elizabeth
Eric Thal
as Rick
Anthony Rapp
as Ben
Oz Perkins
as Woody Kittredge
Catherine Kellner
as Tess Kittredge
Daniel Von Bargen
as Detective
David Tice
as Cocktail Party Guest
Edmond Genest
as Loft Party Guest
Kitty Carlisle Hart
as Mrs. Bannister
John Rowe
as Usher
Margaret Thomson
as Grandmother at Baptism
Brian McConnachie
as Mrs. Bannister's Guest
Kelly Bishop
as Adele
John Cunningham
as John
Vasek Simek
as Frank the Doorman
Joe Pentangelo
as Police Officer
Jose Rabelo
as 2nd Elevator Man
Ann McDonough
as Teacher
Adele Chatfield-Taylor
as Paula
Lou Milione
as Hustler
Madhur Jaffrey
as Guest of Honor
Maeve McGuire
as Polly
Maggie Burke
as Edmond Genest
Margaret Eginton
as Mary
Mitch Kolpan
as Policeman
Nancy Duerr
as Mrs. Bannister's Guest
Peter Duchin
as Sandy
Richmond Hoxie
as Guest at Baptism
Robert Trumbull
as Mrs Bannister's Guest
Sam Stoneburner
as Carter
Vince O'Brien
as Grandfather at Baptism

Crew

Fred Schepisi
Director
Fred Schepisi
Producer
Arnon Milchan
Producer
John Guare
Play Author
John Guare
Screenwriter
Ian Baker
Cinematographer
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Bill Daly
Musical Direction/Supervision
Peter Honess
Editor
Patrizia Von Brandenstein
Production Designer
Dennis Bradford
Art Director
Ric Kidney
Executive Producer
Maria Nay
Set Designer
Gretchen Rau
Set Designer
Judianna Makovsky
Costume Designer
Ellen Chenoweth
Casting
Naomi Donne
Makeup
Advertisement