Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Singin' in the Rain Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Hollywood, 1927: the silent-film romantic team of Don Lockwood ([[Performer~P97107~Gene Kelly~genekelly]]) and Lina Lamont ([[Performer~P29551~Jean Hagen~jeanhagen]]) is the toast of Tinseltown. While Lockwood and Lamont personify smoldering passions onscreen, in real life the down-to-earth Lockwood can't stand the egotistical, brainless Lina. He prefers the company of aspiring actress Kathy Selden ([[Performer~P59782~Debbie Reynolds~debbiereynolds]]), whom he met while escaping his screaming fans. Watching these intrigues from the sidelines is Cosmo Brown ([[Performer~P53349~Donald O'Connor~donaldoconnor]]), Don's best pal and on-set pianist. Cosmo is promoted to musical director of Monumental Pictures by studio head R.F. Simpson ([[Performer~P49698~Millard Mitchell~millardmitchell]]) when the talking-picture revolution commences. That's all right for Cosmo, but how will talkies affect the upcoming Lockwood-Lamont vehicle "The Dueling Cavalier"? Don, an accomplished song-and-dance man, should have no trouble adapting to the microphone. Lina, however, is another matter; put as charitably as possible, she has a voice that sounds like fingernails on a blackboard. The disastrous preview of the team's first talkie has the audience howling with derisive laughter. On the strength of the plot alone, concocted by the matchless writing team of [[Performer~P85609~Betty Comden~bettycomden]] and [[Performer~P92415~Adolph Green~adolphgreen]], Singin' in the Rain is a delight. But with the addition of MGM's catalog of [[Performer~P90483~Arthur Freed~arthurfreed]]-[[Performer~P83251~Nacio Herb Brown~nacioherbbrown]] songs -- "You Were Meant for Me," "You Are My Lucky Star," "The Broadway Melody," and of course the title song -- the film becomes one of the greatest Hollywood musicals ever made. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:April 10, 1952

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Donald O'Connor Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1952 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Gene Kelly Best Film - Any Source 1952 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Gene Kelly Best Director 1952 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jean Hagen Best Supporting Actress 1952 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Stanley Donen Best Film - Any Source 1952 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Stanley Donen Best Director 1952 Nominee

Cast

Gene Kelly
as Don Lockwood
Donald O'Connor
as Cosmo Brown
Debbie Reynolds
as Kathy Selden
Jean Hagen
as Lina Lamont
Millard Mitchell
as R.F. Simpson
Cyd Charisse
as Dancer in the Fantasy Sequence
Rita Moreno
as Zelda Zanders
Douglas Fowley
as Roscoe Dexter
Madge Blake
as Dora Bailey
Margaret Bert
as Wardrobe Woman
Richard Emory
as Phil
Russell Saunders
as Fencer
Wilson Wood
as Vallee Impersonator
Dawn Addams
as Lady in Waiting
Jack George
as Orchestra Leader
Jeanne Coyne
as Girl Dancer
Jimmy Thompson
as Male Lead in "Beautiful Girls" Number
John Dodsworth
as Baron de la May de la Toulon
Joi Lansing
as Beautiful Blonde
Judy Landon
as Olga Mara
Julius Tannen
as Man on Screen
Mae Clarke
as Hairdresser
Stuart Holmes
as J.C. Spendrill III
King Donovan
as Rod
Elaine Stewart
as Lady in Waiting
Bobby Watson
as Diction Coach
Kathleen Freeman
as Phoebe Dinsmore
Carl Milletaire
as Villain
David Kasday
as Kid
Dennis Ross
as Don as a Boy

Crew

Gene Kelly
Director
Stanley Donen
Director
Arthur Freed
Producer
Adolph Green
Screen Story
Adolph Green
Screenwriter
Betty Comden
Screen Story
Betty Comden
Screenwriter
Harold Hal Rosson
Cinematographer
Al Goodhart
Songwriter
Nacio Herb Brown
Composer (Music Score)
Adolph Green
Songwriter
Betty Comden
Songwriter
Arthur Freed
Composer (Music Score)
Randall Duell
Art Director
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Edwin B. Willis
Set Designer
Jacque Mapes
Set Designer
Walter Plunkett
Costume Designer
Warren Newcombe
Special Effects
Arthur Freed
Lyricist
Advertisement