Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Silver Streak Details


While taking a train trip from L.A. to Chicago, mild-mannered George Caldwell (Gene Wilder) makes the acquaintance of Hilly Burns (Jill Clayburgh). As they indulge in a brief bit of spooning, Hilly tells George that her boss is on the verge of exposing a group of vicious art forgers. Later that evening, George sees the body of Hilly's boss being thrown off of the train. Detective Sweet (Ned Beatty) agrees to investigate, but he too is bumped off. The instigator of these outrages is master forger Roger Devereau (Patrick McGoohan), who, with his crony Mr. Whiney (Ray Walston) is planning a particularly diabolical crime. Worse still, they take Hilly prisoner so she can't tip off the cops. When George is also targeted for elimination, he manages in slapstick fashion to elude the killers. Falling off the train, he ends up being arrested on some trumped-up charge or other by a local sheriff. He makes his escape in the company of petty thief Grover Muldoon (Richard Pryor) -- and that's only the beginning. A box-office smash, Silver Streak paved the way for the equally successful 1980 Wilder-Pryor vehicle Stir Crazy. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 3, 1976


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Gene Wilder Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1976 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Hal Etherington Best Sound 1976 Nominee


Gene Wilder
as George Caldwell
Jill Clayburgh
as Hilly Burns
Richard Pryor
as Grover Muldoon
Patrick McGoohan
as Roger Devereau
Ned Beatty
as Bob Sweet
Clifton James
as Sheriff Chauncey
Ray Walston
as Mr. Whiney
Len Birman
as Chief
Valerie Curtin
as Plain Jane
Lucille Benson
as Rita Babtree
Scatman Crothers
as Ralston
Fred Willard
as Jerry Jarvis
Jack O'Leary
as Fat Man #1
Matilda Calnan
as Blue-Haired Lady
Ed McNamara
as Benny
Harvey Atkin
as Conventioneer
Lloyd White
as Porter
Henry Beckman
as Conventioneer
Stefan Gierasch
as Johnson/Prof. Schreiner
Bill Henderson
as Red Cap
Gordon Hurst
as Moose
Raymond Guth
as Night Watchman
Jack Mather
as Conductor
Richard Kiel
as Reace/Goldtooth


Arthur Hiller
Frank Yablans
Martin Ransohoff
Colin Higgins
Henry Mancini
Composer (Music Score)
Henry Mancini
Musical Direction/Supervision
David Bretherton
Alfred Sweeney
Production Designer
Frank Yablans
Executive Producer
Martin Ransohoff
Executive Producer
Marvin March
Set Designer
Phyllis Garr
Costume Designer
Hal Etherington
Sound/Sound Designer
Jack Roe
First Assistant Director
Lynn Stalmaster
Peter V. Herald
Production Manager
Jack B. Bernstein
Production Manager
William J. Tuttle
Mickey Gilbert
Stunts Coordinator