Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Shutter Island Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]] and [[Performer~P18926~Leonardo DiCaprio~leonardodicaprio]] team up for a fourth time for this adaptation of Shutter Island, a novel by [[Performer~P357226~Dennis Lehane~dennislehane]] ([[Feature~V282915~Mystic River~mysticriver]]). The film opens in 1954 as World War II veteran and current federal marshal Teddy Daniels ([[Performer~P18926~Leonardo DiCaprio~leonardodicaprio]]) and his new partner, Chuck ([[Performer~P197651~Mark Ruffalo~markruffalo]]), ferry to Shutter Island, a water-bound mental hospital housing the criminally insane. They have been asked to investigate the disappearance of Rachel Solando ([[Performer~P215854~Emily Mortimer~emilymortimer]]), a patient admitted to the asylum after she murdered her three children. As Teddy quizzes Dr. Cawley ([[Performer~P38383~Ben Kingsley~benkingsley]]), the head of the institution, he begins to suspect that the authorities in charge might not be giving him the whole truth, and that a terrible fate may befall all the patients in the spooky Ward C -- a unit devoted to the most heinous of the hospital's inmates. Complicating matters further, Teddy has a secret of his own -- the arsonist who murdered his wife is incarcerated on Shutter Island. Driven to confront his wife's killer, and stranded on the island because of a hurricane, Teddy must unravel the secrets of the eerie place before succumbing to his own madness. [[Performer~P69424~Max von Sydow~maxvonsydow]], [[Performer~P215854~Emily Mortimer~emilymortimer]], [[Performer~P198320~Michelle Williams~michellewilliams]], [[Performer~P13504~Patricia Clarkson~patriciaclarkson]], and [[Performer~P29701~Jackie Earle Haley~jackieearlehaley]] round out the supporting cast. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:February 19, 2010

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review Dante Ferretti Best Production Design 2010 Winner
Art Directors Guild Dante Ferretti Best Art Direction in a Period Film 2010 Nominee

Cast

Leonardo DiCaprio
as Teddy Daniels
Mark Ruffalo
as Chuck Aule
Ben Kingsley
as Dr. Cawley
Michelle Williams
as Dolores
Max von Sydow
as Dr. Naehring
Patricia Clarkson
as Dr. Rachel Solando
Emily Mortimer
as Rachel Solando
Jackie Earle Haley
as George Noyce
Ted Levine
as Warden
John Carroll Lynch
as Dep. Warden McPherson
Elias Koteas
as Andrew Laeddis
Robin Bartlett
as Mrs. Kearns

Crew

Martin Scorsese
Director
Mike Medavoy
Producer
Martin Scorsese
Producer
Arnie Messer
Producer
Dennis Lehane
Book Author
Laeta Kalogridis
Screenwriter
Robert Richardson
Cinematographer
Robbie Robertson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Thelma Schoonmaker
Editor
Dante Ferretti
Production Designer
Amy Herman
Co-producer
Emma Tillinger
Co-producer
Joseph P. Reidy
Co-producer
Chris Brigham
Executive Producer
Louis Phillips
Executive Producer
Laeta Kalogridis
Executive Producer
Dennis Lehane
Executive Producer
Gianni Nunnari
Executive Producer
Sandy Powell
Costume Designer
Rob Legato
Visual Effects Supervisor
Advertisement