Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Short Time Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P84640~Gregg Champion~greggchampion]], the son of dance stars Marge and [[Performer~P84639~Gower Champion~gowerchampion]], made his feature film directorial debut with this sitcom-influenced cop comedy. [[Performer~P85491~Dabney Coleman~dabneycoleman]] stars as Burt Simpson, a police detective one week short of retirement, who is told he has a rare blood disease called Wechsler's Curtain and that he will be dead within two weeks. Before receiving the dire news, Burt was the kind of guy who made it a point to be cautious when in pursuit of criminals. He also was unable to tell his wife ([[Performer~P26007~Teri Garr~terigarr]]) that he loved her. But now that he has only two weeks to live, Burt undergoes a complete personality reversal -- much to the shock of his partner Ernie Dills ([[Performer~P25053~Matt Frewer~mattfrewer]]). Burt throws his well-known caution to the wind and volunteers for double-duty in the city's most dangerous neighborhood to take on the notorious psychotic Carl Stark ([[Performer~P5693~Xander Berkeley~xanderberkeley]]). The reason for this sudden turnaround? Burt figures that if he is killed in the line of duty, his son can go to Harvard on the $320,000 worth of department insurance, rather than die after retirement and collect a paltry $22,000 on his regular insurance policy. Paradoxically, Burt finds that comedy is easy but dying is hard. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:May 4, 1990

Cast

Dabney Coleman
as Burt Simpson
Matt Frewer
as Ernie Dills
Teri Garr
as Carolyn Simpson
Barry Corbin
as Captain
Joe Pantoliano
as Scalese
Xander Berkeley
as Carl Stark
Rob Roy
as Dan Miller
Kaj-Erik Eriksen
as Dougie Simpson
Deejay Jackson
as Spivak
Steven Wright
as Helicopter Pilot
Russell J. Roberts
as Waiter
Paul Jarrett
as Jonas Lutz
Brenda Crichlow
as Nurse
Kimelly Anne Warren
as Soap Opera Woman
Meredith Bain Woodward
as Psychiatrist
David Symons
as Cop
Dwight Koss
as Car Salesman
Enid Saunders
as Elderly Woman
Fred Perron
as Cop
Gene Heck
as Stark's Cohort
Gillian Barber
as Nurse
Alvin Sanders
as Cop
Gordon Doerkson
as Cop
Kevin McNulty
as Dr. Drexler
Kim Kondrashoff
as Michael Lutz
Paul Batten
as Dr. Goldman
Peter Yunker
as Soap Opera Man
Sam Malkin
as Hostage
Tony Morelli
as Stark's Cohort
Tony Pantages
as Vito
Betty Phillips
as Clerk
Beverly Hendry
as Soap Opera Policewoman
Wes Tritter
as Coffin Salesman
Jack Ammon
as Elderly Man
Jack Bastow
as Sidewalk Preacher
Jay Brazeau
as Cop
Jerry Wasserman
as Cop

Crew

Gregg Champion
Director
Todd Black
Producer
Malcolm R. Harding
Producer
William Osborne
Screenwriter
Michael Berry
Screenwriter
William Davies
Screenwriter
Gary Ross
Screenwriter
John Blumenthal
Screenwriter
John Connor
Cinematographer
Ira Newborn
Composer (Music Score)
Steve Winwood
Songwriter
Derek Power
Musical Direction/Supervision
Michael S. Bolton
Production Designer
Eric Fraser
Art Director
Rob Cowan
Co-producer
Joe Wizan
Executive Producer
Michael Borofsky
Executive Producer
Gwendolyn Margetson
Set Designer
Rory Cutler
Special Effects
Conrad Palmisano
Stunts
Lynne Carrow
Casting
Jayne Dancose
Makeup
Advertisement