Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Shenandoah Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The year is 1863. Wealthy Virginia landowner Charlie Anderson ([[Performer~P229307~James Stewart~jamesstewart]]), a man of peace despite his autocratic behavior, steadfastly refuses to take sides in the Civil War. Bit by bit, Anderson's isolationism--and his way of living--is torn apart. Charlie's daughter, Jannie Anderson ([[Performer~P24372~Rosemary Forsyth~rosemaryforsyth]]) falls in love with Confederate soldier Sam ([[Performer~P47043~Doug McClure~dougmcclure]]). His youngest son, Boy Anderson ([[Performer~P909~Philip Alford~philipalford]]) is captured by the Confederate army and taken prisoner. Meanwhile, another son, James ([[Performer~P75104~Patrick Wayne~patrickwayne]]) and his wife, Ann ([[Performer~P61632~Katherine Ross~katharineross]]), are murdered by looters. And his oldest son, Jacob [[Performer~P14920~Glenn Corbett~glenncorbett]], is accidentally killed. How all of these personal tragedies culminate in a successfully sentimental finale is the peculiar charm of Shenandoah, which proved to be a hit with audiences on both sides of the Mason-Dixon line. [[Performer~P80796~James Lee Barrett~jamesleebarrett]]'s screenplay was later adapted into a successful Broadway musical, starring [[Feature~V35670~Northern Exposure~northernexposure:pilot]]'s [[Performer~P230351~John Cullum~johncullum]] in the [[Performer~P68236~Stewart~jamesstewart]] role. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 3, 1965

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Rosemary Forsyth New Star of the Year - Female 1965 Nominee

Cast

James Stewart
as Charlie Anderson
Doug McClure
as Sam
Glenn Corbett
as Jacob Anderson
Patrick Wayne
as James Anderson
Rosemary Forsyth
as Jannie Anderson
Philip Alford
as Boy Anderson
Katharine Ross
as Ann Anderson
Tim McIntire
as Henry Anderson
Paul Fix
as Dr. Tom Witherspoon
Denver Pyle
as Pastor Bjoerling
George Kennedy
as Col. Fairchild
James Best
as Carter
Tom Simcox
as Lt. Johnson
Berkeley Harris
as Capt. Richards
Harry Carey, Jr.
as Jenkins
Kevin Hagen
as Mule
Dabbs Greer
as Abernathy
Strother Martin
as Engineer
Kelly Thordsen
as Carroll
John Daheim
as Osborne
Joe Yrigoyen
as Marshal
Lane Bradford
as Tinkham
George Fisher
as Confederate Soldier
Rayford Barnes
as Horace
Warren Oates
as Billy Packer
Bob Steele
as Guard
Edward Faulkner
as Union Sergeant
Gregg Palmer
as Union Guard
Buzz Henry
as Rider
Leroy Johnson
as Rider
Henry Wills
Hoke Howell
as Crying Prisoner

Crew

Andrew V. McLaglen
Director
Robert Arthur
Producer
William H. Clothier
Cinematographer
Frank Skinner
Composer (Music Score)
Joseph E. Gershenson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Otho Lovering
Editor
Alfred Sweeney
Art Director
Alexander Golitzen
Art Director
John McCarthy
Set Designer
Oliver Emert
Set Designer
Rosemary Odell
Costume Designer
Terence Nelson
First Assistant Director
Bud Westmore
Makeup
Frank Westmore
Makeup
Hank Edds
Makeup
Advertisement