Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Shampoo Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A frankly adult comedy about the sex lives of the aimless and the rich, Shampoo is also a pointed commentary on the demise of 1960s idealism at the dawn of the [[Performer~P52812~Nixon~richardmnixon]] era. It is Election Day, 1968, and randy Beverly Hills hairdresser George Roundy ([[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]]) is too worried about attending to all of his women's tonsorial and sexual needs, while trying to swing a bank loan to fund his own salon, to notice the fateful Presidential race. As George juggles the demands of girlfriend Jill ([[Performer~P31138~Goldie Hawn~goldiehawn]]) and mistress Felicia ([[Performer~P92333~Lee Grant~leegrant]]), not to mention Felicia's daughter ([[Performer~P89886~Carrie Fisher~carriefisher]]), he meets Felicia's husband Lester ([[Performer~P74681~Jack Warden~jackwarden]]) to get money for the salon and discovers that his beloved ex-girlfriend Jackie ([[Performer~P13030~Julie Christie~juliechristie]]) is now Lester's mistress. Lester asks George to escort Jackie to a banquet for [[Performer~P52812~Nixon~richardmnixon]] supporters, leading to a series of climactic confrontations at the dinner and a Hollywood orgy that expose the conflicting demands of sex, love, and security among these terminally narcissistic L.A. denizens. As [[Performer~P52812~Nixon~richardmnixon]]'s victory speech drones in the background the following day and [[Performer~P111574~Paul Simon~paulsimon]]'s mournful '60s music plays on the soundtrack, George's free-wheeling world collapses around him for reasons that he can barely begin to comprehend. Produced and co-written (with [[Feature~V9362~Chinatown~chinatown]] scribe [[Performer~P286255~Robert Towne~roberttowne]]) by its star [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]], Shampoo became [[Performer~P81105~Beatty~warrenbeatty]]'s second critical and popular success as a producer after [[Feature~V6614~Bonnie and Clyde~bonnieandclyde]], and it bolstered [[Performer~P80067~Hal Ashby~halashby]]'s track record as director. Shampoo earned [[Performer~P92333~Grant~leegrant]] an Oscar for Best Supporting Actress, as well as a Supporting Actor nomination for [[Performer~P74681~Warden~jackwarden]] and [[Performer~P81105~Beatty~warrenbeatty]]'s first nomination as writer. With [[Performer~P52812~Nixon~richardmnixon]]'s 1974 Watergate disgrace adding an extra edge to the humor for 1975 audiences, this tragic bedroom farce became one of the highest-grossing films in Columbia Pictures' history at the time. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:February 11, 1975

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Julie Christie Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1975 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Lee Grant Best Supporting Actress 1975 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Lee Grant Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1975 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Warren Beatty Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1975 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Warren Beatty Best Original Screenplay 1975 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Goldie Hawn Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1975 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jack Warden Best Supporting Actor 1975 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Sylbert Best Art Direction 1975 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Towne Best Original Screenplay 1975 Nominee

Cast

Warren Beatty
as George
Julie Christie
as Jackie
Goldie Hawn
as Jill
Lee Grant
as Felicia
Jack Warden
as Lester
Tony Bill
as Johnny Pope
Carrie Fisher
as Lorna
Jay Robinson
as Norman
George Furth
as Bank Officer
William Castle
as Sid Roth
Mike Olton
as Ricci
Cynthia Wood
as Beauty Shop Customer
Susan McIver
as Customer
George Justin
as Producer
Ann Weldon
as Mary
Brad Dexter
as Senator East
Howard Culver
as Newscaster
Hal Buckley
as Kenneth
Doris Packer
as Rosalind
Joan Marshall
as Mrs. Schumann
Andrew Stevens
as Boy #2
Susan Blakely
Dina Ousley
as Hairdresser
Michelle Phillips
as Girl at Party
Constance Smith
as Twin
Jack Bernardi
as Izzy
Howard Hesseman
as Red Dog
Wally Crowder
as Malone's Delivery Boy
Luana Anders
as Devra
Cherie Latimer
as Girl in Car

Crew

Hal Ashby
Director
Warren Beatty
Producer
Warren Beatty
Screenwriter
Robert Towne
Screenwriter
Laszlo Kovacs
Cinematographer
John Barry
Composer (Music Score)
Paul Simon
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Sylbert
Production Designer
Charles H. Maguire
Associate Producer
Robert Resh
Set Designer
Anthea Sylbert
Costume Designer
Art Levinson
First Assistant Director
Charles H. Maguire
Production Manager
Mike Fenton
Casting
Jane Feinberg
Casting
Advertisement