Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Shaking the Tree Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Shaking the Tree is an ensemble dramedy about four male friends living in Chicago, pushing 30, who help each other through a series of crises. Barry ([[Performer~P28966~Arye Gross~aryegross]]) is a real estate salesman and a huge White Sox fan who's nervous about his impending wedding to Michelle ([[Performer~P29430~Christina Haag~christinahaag]]). When he presses her about her sexual past, he finds out she once slept with one of his pals. Duke ([[Performer~P76246~Steven Wilde~stevenwilde]], who co-wrote the script with director [[Performer~P85144~Duane B. Clark~duanebclark]]) was forced to give up boxing due to an injury, and is unhappy with his life as a womanizing bartender. Sully ([[Performer~P30216~Gale Hansen~galehansen]]) comes from a wealthy family. He is also a womanizer, and his gambling problem is spiraling out of control. When he loses ten grand to some shady characters, his family refuses to bail him out. Michael ([[Performer~P63346~Doug Savant~dougsavant]] of Melrose Place) is a college professor with a massively pregnant wife, Kathleen ([[Performer~P15465~Courteney Cox~courteneycox]]), and his fear of becoming a father leads him to consider an affair with a seductive student, Brigette (played by actor [[Performer~P30216~Gale Hansen~galehansen]]'s wife, Brittney Hansen). After [[Performer~P15465~Cox~courteneycox]] became a success on television with [[Feature~V258653~Friends~friends[tvseries]]], the film was re-released on video with the photo on the box changed to feature the actress prominently, although she plays a supporting role in the film. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:January 24, 1992

Cast

Arye Gross
as Barry
Gale Hansen
as John "Sully" Sullivan
Doug Savant
as Michael
Steven Wilde
as Terry "Duke" Keegan
Christina Haag
as Michelle
Courteney Cox
as Kathleen
Dennis Cockrum
as Mr. Bannelli
Mik Scriba
as Tony Villanova
Eva Quiroz
as Brunette at Bar
Terry Moloney
as Barry's Work Buddy
Kristin Messner
as Bridgette
Michael Arabian
as Nickel
Maurice Chasse
as Cashier at Stubby's
Nathan Davis
as Grandpa Sullivan
Dennis Kelly
as Sully's Father
Ron Dean
as Duke's Father
Kirk Thatcher
as Craps Player
Joey Tomaska
as Richie
Louie Lanciloti
as Cab Driver
Barbara Robertson
as Nurse
John Malloy
as Christmas Tree Lot Owner
Terry Muller
as Ape
Ned Schmidtke
as Mr. Jack
Dick Sasso
as New Yorker in Van

Crew

Duane B. Clark
Director
Robert J. Wilson
Producer
Steven Wilde
Screenwriter
Duane B. Clark
Screenwriter
Sean Mannion
Production Designer
Susan Kaufmann
Costume Designer
Elaine Offers
Makeup
Kirk Thatcher
Storyboard Artist
Advertisement