Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Shadrach Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P238592~Susanna Styron~susannastyron]] made her feature directorial debut with this family drama, an adaptation of a 1978 short story by her father, novelist William Styron ([[Feature~V45699~Sophie's Choice~sophieschoice]]). Paul Whitehurst (voice of [[Performer~P111083~Martin Sheen~martinsheen]]) recalls Depression-era events in Tidewater, Virginia, when he was ten years old. In the summer of 1935, lonely young Paul ([[Performer~P237750~Scott Terra~scottterra]]), with his strict father ([[Performer~P40638~Darrell Larson~darrelllarson]]) and fatally ill mother ([[Performer~P31495~Deborah Hedwall~deborahhedwall]]), is raised in a boring, middle-class way of life, so mundane it leads him into a friendship with the lower-class Dabneys, once aristocratic but now reduced to poverty on the former Dabney plantation. Bootlegger Vernon ([[Performer~P37381~Harvey Keitel~harveykeitel]]) is married to earthy beer-drinking Trixie ([[Performer~P44167~Andie MacDowell~andiemacdowell]]), and Paul enjoys the fun-loving lifestyle of this couple and their seven children. Shadrach ([[Performer~P237701~John Franklin Sawyer~johnfranklinsawyer]]), a 99-year-old former slave, turns up one day at the Dabney house after walking barefoot from Alabama to Virginia, where he was born into slavery. Since Shadrach's wish to be buried on the Dabney's land violates Virginia law, the request sets a variety of racist attitudes and conflicts into motion. Shown at the 1998 LA Independent Film Festival. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:September 25, 1998

Cast

Harvey Keitel
as Vernon
Andie MacDowell
as Trixie
John Franklin Sawyer
as Shadrach
Scott Terra
as Paul
Daniel Treat
as Little Mole
Monica Bugajski
as Edmonia
Darrell Larson
as Mr. Whitehurst
Deborah Hedwall
as Mrs. Whitehurst
Martin Sheen

Crew

Susanna Styron
Director
Bridgett Terry
Producer
Boaz Davidson
Producer
John Thompson
Producer
Bridgett Terry
Screenwriter
Susanna Styron
Screenwriter
Hiro Narita
Cinematographer
Van Dyke Parks
Composer (Music Score)
Colleen Sharp
Editor
Burton Rencher
Production Designer
Danny Dimbort
Executive Producer
Avi Lerner
Executive Producer
Trevor Short
Executive Producer
Jonathan Demme
Executive Producer
Steven Shareshian
Executive Producer
Elie Samaha
Executive Producer
Valerie Fann
Set Designer
Dona Granata
Costume Designer
Carl Rudisill
Sound/Sound Designer
Tracy Kilpatrick
Casting
Advertisement