Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Serious Charge Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A false accusation divides a town and destroys a clergyman's career in this adaptation of the [[Performer~P606455~Philip King~philipking]] stage play of the same name. [[Performer~P58189~Anthony Quayle~anthonyquayle]] stars as Reverend Howard Phillips, a new arrival in a small town that's become overrun with punk kids. Trying to make a difference and improve the town's fortunes, Phillips earns the respect and love of Hester Peters ([[Performer~P13157~Sarah Churchill~sarahchurchill]]), a spinster and the daughter of the previous vicar. Unfortunately, Phillips runs afoul of Larry Thompson ([[Performer~P58963~Andrew Ray~andrewray]]), leader of the delinquents running roughshod over the town. A nasty piece of work, Thompson has murdered one person and doesn't hesitate to concoct a false story that Phillips made an unwelcome homosexual advance toward him that turned into an assault. Instead of rallying to his defense, the narrow-minded town elders simply backbite and gossip. Director [[Performer~P117701~Terence Young~terenceyoung]] went on to direct three of the first four [[Feature~V158529~James Bond~jamesbond[filmseries]]] films, [[Feature~V14575~Dr. No~drno]] (1962), [[Feature~V18751~From Russia with Love~fromrussiawithlove]] (1963), and [[Feature~V49850~Thunderball~thunderball]] (1965). ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

Cast

Anthony Quayle
as Howard Phillips
Andrew Ray
as Larry Thompson
Irene Browne
as Mrs. Phillips
Percy Herbert
as Mr. Thompson
Noel Howlett
as Mr. Peters
Wensley Pithey
as Police Sergeant
Leigh Madison
as Mary Williams
Judith Furse
as Probation Officer
Jean Cadell
as Almshouse Matron
Wilfrid Brambell
as Verger
Olive Sloane
as Mrs. Browning
George Roderick
as Fishmonger
Wilfred Pickles
as Magistrate

Crew

Terence Young
Director
Mickey Delamar
Producer
Guy Elmes
Screenwriter
Mickey Delamar
Screenwriter
Georges Périnal
Cinematographer
Leighton Lucas
Composer (Music Score)
Reginald Beck
Editor
Allan Harris
Art Director
Freda Pearson
Set Designer
Phil Leakey
Makeup
Advertisement