Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Scrooged Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A darkly comic and surreal contemporization of [[Performer~P308966~Charles Dickens~charlesdickens]]'s A Christmas Carol, this effects-heavy [[Performer~P103861~Bill Murray~billmurray]] holiday vehicle from 1988 sees the former [[Feature~V175321~SNL~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] funnyman assuming the role of television executive Frank Cross, the meanest and most depraved man on earth. Cross will stoop to unheard of levels to increase his network's ratings -- even if it means mounting outrageous programs to retain an audience, such as "[[Performer~P27988~Robert Goulet~robertgoulet]]'s Cajun Christmas" and [[Performer~P44738~Lee Majors~leemajors]] in "The Night the Reindeer Died," with an AK-47-toting Santa. Cross plots his foulest move, however, for the Christmas holiday, when he will force his office staff to mount a live production of A Christmas Carol on national television -- and thus work through Christmas Eve. Cross's life is turned upside down with visits from three ghosts: a craggy-faced cabbie known as The Ghost of Christmas Past ([[Performer~P96132~David Johansen~davidjohansen]]); the sugar-plum fairy Ghost of Christmas Present ([[Performer~P36788~Carol Kane~carolkane]]) (who gets her jollies by bonking Frank across the face with a toaster oven); and, eventually, the caped, headless Ghost of Christmas Future, who will send Frank sliding into a crematory oven -- just before he gives the sleazoid one last chance to redeem himself. Along the way, the spirits carry Frank to scenes from his past, present, and future (per Scrooge) and impart a glimpse of how he became so thoroughly rotten. The radiant [[Performer~P1033~Karen Allen~karenallen]] co-stars as Frank's girlfriend, Claire Phillips, and the film packs in cameos from countless celebrities -- among them, [[Performer~P59704~Mary Lou Retton~marylouretton]], [[Performer~P94949~John Houseman~johnhouseman]], [[Performer~P22742~Jamie Farr~jamiefarr]], and, in a truly grisly and tasteless bit, [[Performer~P24380~John Forsythe~johnforsythe]]. [[Performer~P88048~Richard Donner~richarddonner]] directs, from a script credited to the late [[Performer~P104837~Michael O'Donoghue~michaelodonoghue]] and [[Performer~P91732~Mitch Glazer~mitchglazer]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:November 23, 1988

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Thomas R. Burman Best Makeup 1988 Nominee

Cast

Bill Murray
as Frank Cross
Karen Allen
as Claire Phillips
John Forsythe
as Lew Hayward
John Glover
as Brice Cummings
Bobcat Goldthwait
as Eliot Loudermilk
Carol Kane
as Ghost of Christmas Present
Robert Mitchum
as Preston Rhinelander
David Johansen
as Ghost of Christmas Past
Nicholas Phillips
as Calvin Cooley
Michael J. Pollard
as Herman
Alfre Woodard
as Grace Cooley
Jamie Farr
as Jacob Marley
Buddy Hackett
as Scrooge
John Houseman
as Himself
Brian Doyle-Murray
as Earl Cross
Mary Lou Retton
as Herself
Michael O'Donoghue
as Priest
Ryan Todd
as Frank as Child
Jeanine Jackson
as Technician
Bill Hart
as Carpenter
Stephen Kahan
as Technician
Raphael Harris
as Older Calvin
Harvey Fisher
as Party Guest
Miles Davis
as Street Musician
Amy Hill
as Technician
Peter Onorati
Henry Brown
as Technician
Jean Speegle Howard
as Mrs. Claus
Roy Brocksmith
as Mike the Mailman
Jeffrey Joseph
as Executive
Sachi Parker
as Belle
Kathy Kinney
as IBC Nurse
Joel Murray
as Guest
Selma Archerd
as Mrs. Claus at Party
Bill Marcus
as IBC Guard
Gilles Savard
as Waiter
Logan Ramsey
as Man in Shelter
Susan Barnes
as Harpy
Jay Byron
as Man #1 at Party
Larry Carlton
as Street Musician
Pat McCormick
as Ghost of Christmas Past (TV)
Peter Bromilow
as Archbishop
Damon Hines
as Steven Cooley
Delores Hall
as Hazel
Dick Blasucci
as Executive
Tony Steedman
as Headwaiter
Mitch Glazer
as Guest
Paul Shaffer
as Street Musician
Regina King
as Lanell Cooley
Ralph Bruneau
as Nephew
Cal Gibson
as IBC Guard
Dick McGarvin
as Announcer
Bruce Jarchow
as Wayne
Anne Ramsey
as Woman in Shelter
Mary Ellen Trainor
as Ted
Maria Riva
as Mrs. Rhinelander
Alvin Hammer
as Foreman
Paul Tuerpé
as Stage Manager
Jennie Lew Tugend
as Foo-Ling
Sanford Jensen
as Executive
Jack McGee
as Carpenter
Rebeca Arthur
as Tina
Norm Wilson
as Technician
Stella Hall
as Lew Haywards Secretary
Wendie Malick
as Wendie Cross
Lisa Mende
as Doris Cross
June Chandler
as June Cleaver
Lester Wilson
as Choreographer
Kate McGregor-Stewart
as Lady Censor

Crew

Richard Donner
Director
Richard Donner
Producer
Art Linson
Producer
Michael O'Donoghue
Screenwriter
Mitch Glazer
Screenwriter
Michael Chapman
Cinematographer
Danny Elfman
Composer (Music Score)
Frederic Steinkamp
Editor
William Steinkamp
Editor
J. Michael Riva
Production Designer
Ray Hartwick
Co-producer
Jennie Lew-Tugend
Associate Producer
Stephen J. Roth
Executive Producer
Dianne I. Wager
Set Designer
Nancy Patton
Set Designer
Jim Teegarden
Set Designer
Linda de Scenna
Set Designer
Willie D. Burton
Sound/Sound Designer
Bari Dreiband-Burman
Special Effects
Thomas R. Burman
Special Effects
Chris Soldo
First Assistant Director
Thomas R. Burman
Makeup Special Effects
Al Laverde
Key Grip
Roger Paradiso
Unit Production Manager
Advertisement