Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

School of Rock Details


The world's least-employable heavy metal guitarist is entrusted with the minds of upstate New York's best and brightest in this fish-out-of-water comedy. Jack Black plays Dewey Finn, axe-bearer for a fitfully successful bar band determined to win a regional battle-of-the-bands competition. There's only one thing standing in their way: the self-indulgent solos and crowd-diving antics of their "embarrassing" lead guitarist. When his band votes him out in favor of a would-be rock god, Dewey has to make the rent somehow, and after intercepting a call for his substitute-teacher roomie Ned (Mike White), the pot-bellied slacker finds himself in front of a class of elite elementary school students. At a loss for a lesson plan, Dewey takes offense at the pre-teen prodigies' staid musical regimen and makes it his goal to preach them the gospel of The Who, Led Zeppelin, and AC/DC -- with the ulterior motive of getting them to compete against his former band for a cash prize. But no matter how willing his pupils, Dewey runs up against the consternation of the school's stern headmistress Principal Mullins (Joan Cusack), the battle-of-the-bands' promoter (Frank Whaley), and not least, his identity-deprived roomie Ned. ~ Michael Hastings, Rovi

  • Release date:October 3, 2003


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Jack Black Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2003 Nominee


Jack Black
as Dewey Finn
Joan Cusack
as Principal Rosalie Mullins
Mike White
as Ned Schneebly
Sarah Silverman
as Patty
Jordan-Claire Green
as Michelle
Veronica Afflerbach
as Eleni
Miranda Cosgrove
as Summer
Robert Tsai
as Lawrence
Angelo Massagli
as Frankie
Maryam Hassan
as Tomika
Caitlin Hale
as Marta
Cole Hawkins
as Leonard
Brian Falduto
as Billy
James Hosey
as Marco
Aleisha Allen
as Alicia
Zachary Infante
as Gordon


Richard Linklater
Scott Rudin
Richard Linklater
Mike White
Rogier Stoffers
Randall Poster
Musical Direction/Supervision
Craig Wedren
Composer (Music Score)
Sandra Adair
Jeremy Conway
Production Designer
Adam Scher
Art Director
Steve Nicolaides
Executive Producer
Scott Aversano
Executive Producer
Karin Wiesel
Set Designer
Karen Patch
Costume Designer
Sam Hoffman
First Assistant Director
Ilene Starger