Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Saving Mr. Banks Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The story of how [[Performer~P87871~Walt Disney~waltdisney]] courted [[Performer~P311326~P.L. Travers~pltravers]] into letting him option the rights to [[Feature~V31639~Mary Poppins~marypoppins]] is brought to the screen in this non-fiction drama starring [[Performer~P93341~Tom Hanks~tomhanks]], [[Performer~P70692~Emma Thompson~emmathompson]], and [[Performer~P22766~Colin Farrell~colinfarrell]]. A doting father, [[Performer~P87871~Walt Disney~waltdisney]] ([[Performer~P93341~Hanks~tomhanks]]) promises his adoring daughters that he will bring their favorite fictional nanny Mary Poppins to the big screen. Little does Walt realize that surly author [[Performer~P311326~P.L. Travers~pltravers]] has no intention of seeing her most famous creation bastardized for moviegoers, a fact that makes keeping his promise a difficult endeavor. Years later, however, when [[Performer~P311326~Travers~pltravers]]' book sales begin to slow, dwindling finances drive her to schedule a meeting with Disney to discuss the film rights to the beloved story. For two weeks in 1961, a determined [[Performer~P87871~Disney~waltdisney]] does his absolute best to convince [[Performer~P311326~Travers~pltravers]] that the film version of Mary Poppins will be a wondrous and respectful adaptation, meanwhile the author only grows more convinced that she has made the right move in preventing the proposed film adaptation. Later, just when it begins to appear that the rights to Mary Poppins have slipped through his fingers, the ingenious [[Performer~P87871~Disney~waltdisney]] reflects back on his childhood, and realizes that a sensitive chapter from [[Performer~P311326~Travers~pltravers]]' youth could be the key to clinching the deal. [[Performer~P75991~Bradley Whitford~bradleywhitford]], [[Performer~P26680~Paul Giamatti~paulgiamatti]], and [[Performer~P263441~Jason Schwartzman~jasonschwartzman]] co-star. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:December 13, 2013

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review Emma Thompson Best Actor 2013 Winner
Screen Actors Guild Emma Thompson Best Actress 2013 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Emma Thompson Best Actress 2013 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Emma Thompson Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 2013 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Thomas Newman Best Original Music 2013 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Thomas Newman Best Score 2013 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Daniel Orlandi Best Costume Design 2013 Nominee

Cast

Emma Thompson
as P.L. Travers
Tom Hanks
as Walt Disney
Colin Farrell
as Robert Goff Travers
Bradley Whitford
as Don DaGradi
Paul Giamatti
as Ralph
Jason Schwartzman
as Richard Morton Sherman
Ruth Wilson
as Margaret Goff
B.J. Novak
as Robert Sherman
Kathy Baker
as Tommie
Rachel Griffiths
as Aunt Ellie

Crew

John Lee Hancock
Director
Philip Steuer
Producer
Ian Collie
Producer
Alison Owen
Producer
John Schwartzman
Cinematographer
Thomas Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Livolsi
Editor
Michael Corenblith
Production Designer
Paul Trijbits
Executive Producer
Christine Langan
Executive Producer
Andrew Mason
Executive Producer
Troy Lum
Executive Producer
Daniel Orlandi
Costume Designer
Advertisement