Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sam the Man Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Before he broke out with the [[Performer~P314507~J.D. Salinger~jdsalinger]]-esque [[Feature~V259868~Tadpole~tadpole]] in 2002, producer-turned-director [[Performer~P117054~Gary Winick~garywinick]] filmed this little-seen relationship drama. [[Performer~P68124~Fisher Stevens~fisherstevens]] stars as the title character, a writer with one novel under his belt who can't seem to deliver the follow-up. Instead, he spends his time compulsively cheating on his photographer girlfriend, Cass ([[Performer~P63988~Annabella Sciorra~annabellasciorra]]); giving the runaround to his agent, Richard ([[Performer~P60231~Ron Rifkin~ronrifkin]]); and trying to keep his landlord, Murray ([[Performer~P92972~Luis Guzman~luisguzman]]), at bay. Things take a turn for the worse when the husband of one of Sam's conquests ([[Performer~P263285~Maria Bello~mariabello]]) confronts him, leaving Sam covered in hard-to-explain injuries. Soon, with the help of his barkeep brother, Lorenzo ([[Performer~P187012~Saverio Guerra~saverioguerra]]), Sam is holding down a day job for the first time in years and reexamining every aspect of his life. After the success of [[Feature~V259868~Tadpole~tadpole]], the Independent Film Channel picked up Sam the Man for broadcast on cable television. The film's cast, filled with notable and lesser-known New York actors, includes [[Performer~P57087~George Plimpton~georgeplimpton]], [[Performer~P88456~Griffin Dunne~griffindunne]], and [[Performer~P50879~Rob Morrow~robmorrow]]. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

  • Release date:September 14, 2001

Cast

Fisher Stevens
as Sam
Annabella Sciorra
as Cass
Ron Rifkin
as Richard
Luis Guzman
as Murray
Saverio Guerra
as Lorenzo

Crew

Gary Winick
Director
Advertisement