Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Safe Men Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A case of mistaken identity forces a pair of lounge singers to pose as safecrackers in this farce. Sam ([[Performer~P60946~Sam Rockwell~samrockwell]]) and Eddie ([[Performer~P212137~Steve Zahn~stevezahn]]) are hapless musicians; Frank ([[Performer~P197651~Mark Ruffalo~markruffalo]]) and Mitchell ([[Performer~P54735~Josh Pais~joshpais]]) are expert safecrackers. But when local Jewish gangster Big Fat Bernie Gayle ([[Performer~P41931~Michael Lerner~michaellerner]]) dispatches his henchman, Veal Chop ([[Performer~P26680~Paul Giamatti~paulgiamatti]]), to trick the safecrackers into service, the hapless Veal Chop can't tell the difference. In the end, Sam and Eddie are forced to go along with Veal Chop's mistake and perform three separate robberies for the imposing Big Fat Bernie. During their very first mission -- to rob the safe of local fence Good Stuff Leo ([[Performer~P89737~Harvey Fierstein~harveyfierstein]]) -- they're apprehended by Hannah ([[Performer~P235537~Christina Kirk~christinakirk]]), Leo's affable, deadpan daughter. Hannah lets the guys go, but sparks fly between her and Sam. It just so happens, however, that real safecracker Frank is her ex-boyfriend, and that she's sworn off dating criminals for life. The coincidences, double crosses, and unlikely romance culminate in the bar mitzvah of Bernie's son, Little Big Fat Bernie ([[Performer~P547550~Michael Schmidt~michaelschmidt]]), whose present is the Stanley Cup -- the actual hockey trophy -- which was stolen from Good Stuff Leo by the reluctant Sam and Eddie. Shown at the 1998 Sundance Film Festival, Safe Men marked the writing and directing debut of future [[Feature~V214070~Meet the Parents~meettheparents]] and [[Feature~V252771~Zoolander~zoolander]] scribe [[Performer~P235958~John Hamburg~johnhamburg]]. The film also gave a pre-stardom [[Performer~P197651~Mark Ruffalo~markruffalo]] one of his first featured roles. [[Performer~P60946~Sam Rockwell~samrockwell]] and [[Performer~P54735~Josh Pais~joshpais]] previously appeared together in [[Feature~V120119~Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Movie~teenagemutantninjaturtles:themovie]]. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

Crew

John Hamburg
Director
Jeffrey Clifford
Producer
Andrew Hauptman
Producer
John Hamburg
Screenwriter
Michael Barrett
Cinematographer
Theodore Shapiro
Composer (Music Score)
Mary Ramos
Musical Direction/Supervision
Suzanne Pillsbury
Editor
Anthony Gasparro
Production Designer
Ondine Karady
Art Director
Rain Kramer
Associate Producer
Ted Kurdyla
Executive Producer
Elon Dershowitz
Executive Producer
Robert Cavallo
Executive Producer
Nicholas Kazan
Executive Producer
Coll Anderson
Sound/Sound Designer
Rob York
First Assistant Director
Avy Kaufman
Casting
Eva Kolodner
Line Producer
Advertisement