Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Safe House Details


A rookie CIA operative goes on the run with a rogue former intelligence officer after a South African safe house comes under attack by heavily armed mercenaries. Matt Weston (Ryan Reynolds) is a CIA agent just waiting for the perfect opportunity to prove himself. But that's no easy task when you've been cooped up in an empty Cape Town safe house for a whole year. Weston realizes that a prime opportunity is headed his way, however, when he learns that former agent Tobin Frost (Denzel Washington) has been captured after nearly a decade on the run. Frost is about to become Weston's one and only guest at the safe house, and the fledgling agent is determined to handle the situation like a true professional. But by selling U.S. secrets to countries like North Korea, Frost has made more than his fair share of enemies in high places, and shortly after he arrives at the safe house, all hell breaks loose. A small army of gunmen are determined to see Frost dead. Meanwhile, Weston will do everything in his power to protect Frost, regardless of his crimes. Now Weston's only hope for getting out of this alive is to find out who's gunning for them, and seek out someone he can trust before it's too late. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:February 10, 2012


Denzel Washington
as Tobin Frost
Ryan Reynolds
as Matt Weston
Vera Farmiga
as Catherine Linklater
Brendan Gleeson
as David Barlow
Sam Shepard
as Harlan Whitford
Rubén Blades
as Carlos Villar
Nora Arnezeder
as Ana Moreau
Robert Patrick
as Daniel Kiefer
Liam Cunningham
as Alec Wade
Joel Kinnaman
as Keller
Tracie Thoms
as CIA Analyst
Nicole Sherwin
as Whitford's Assistant
Jake McLaughlin
as Miller
Stephen Bishop
as Marine Guard
Justin Shaw
as Private Security Guard
Nambitha Mpumlwana
as Illana
Louis Gouws
as BMW Driver
Jerry Mofokeng
as Man at Mint
Robert Hobbs
as Morgan


Daniel Espinosa
Scott Stuber
Oliver Wood
Ramin Djawadi
Composer (Music Score)
Brigitte Broch
Production Designer
Nigel Churcher
Supervising Art Director
Jonathan Hely-Hutchinson
Art Director
Shira Hockman
Art Director
Genevieve Hofmeyr
Supervising Producer
Adam Merims
Executive Producer
Marc D. Evans
Executive Producer
Trevor Macy
Executive Producer
Alexa Faigen
Executive Producer
Scott Aversano
Executive Producer
Denzel Washington
Executive Producer
Susan Matheson
Costume Designer
Melinda Launspach
Set Decorator
Dino R. Dimuro
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Staubli
Sound/Sound Designer
John Wildermuth
First Assistant Director
Sarah Halley Finn
Kevin Hickman
Visual Effects Editor
Ezra Dweck
Sound Effects Editor
Damiana Kamishin
Production Coordinator
Per Hallberg
Supervising Sound Editor
Adam Merims
Unit Production Manager
Steve Garrad
Visual Effects Executive Producer
Vincenzo Mastrantonio
Makeup Designer
Alexander Witt
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Alexander Witt
Second Unit Director
Trey Batchelor
Second Assistant Director
Nico Louw
Production Sound Mixer
Cordell McQueen
Special Effects Supervisor
Adam Estey
Visual Effects Editor
Peter Myles
Music Editor
Charlene Amateau
Costumes Supervisor
Jeremy Hattingh
Visual Effects Supervisor
Image Engine
Visual Effects
Adam Brailsford
Assistant Editor
Olivier Schneider
Fights Choreographer
Grant Hulley
Stunts Coordinator
Clive Beard
Special Effects Coordinator
Elizabeth Czyzewski
Assistant Editor
John Refoua
Additional Editing
Sam Conway
Special Effects Supervisor
Simon Hughes
Visual Effects Supervisor
Raine Edwards
Carl Fullerton
Gigi Causey
Production Supervisor