Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sadie Thompson Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Rain, the famous [[Performer~P85591~John Colton~johncolton]]-[[Performer~P314110~Clemence Randolph~clemencerandolph]] theatrical adaptation of Somerset Maugham's short story about religious hypocrisy, was such a "hot potato" in 1928 that the Hays Office, Hollywood's self-appointed censorship bureau, would not allow the play to be filmed under its original title. Thus, the silent film version of Rain went out as Sadie Thompson, which happened to be the name of the central character. [[Performer~P69293~Gloria Swanson~gloriaswanson]] plays Sadie, a woman of loose morals and sordid reputation who travels to the South Seas, seeking out a new life. She makes little effort to curb her hedonism, especially when she's "entertaining" a group of US marines stationed in the tiny island where she lives. Sadie falls genuinely in love for the first time with marine [[Performer~P115880~Raoul Walsh~raoulwalsh]] (who also directed the film), which displeases visiting bluenose [[Performer~P4295~Lionel Barrymore~lionelbarrymore]] (a clergyman in the original play, but a private citizen here). Threatening to expose Sadie to the local authorities if she doesn't clear out, the sanctimonious [[Performer~P4295~Barrymore~lionelbarrymore]] declares that the fallen woman can only save herself by embracing the word of God. The repentant Sadie sobbingly promises to do so--whereupon [[Performer~P4295~Barrymore~lionelbarrymore]], in a moment of weakness, seduces Sadie himself. [[Performer~P4295~Barrymore~lionelbarrymore]] commits suicide, leaving Sadie free to start life over with Walsh. Lip-readers had a field day watching [[Performer~P69293~Gloria Swanson~gloriaswanson]] mouth the most colorful of obscenities, which were immediately "laundered" by censor-approved subtitles. Current prints of Sadie Thompson are incomplete; the final reel has been reconstructed with reshot titles and still pictures. The film would be remade under the original title Rain in 1932, with [[Performer~P15681~Joan Crawford~joancrawford]] in the lead; 22 years later, a heavily bowdlerized musical version of Rain, starring [[Performer~P31340~Rita Hayworth~ritahayworth]], was released as [[Feature~V32883~Miss Sadie Thompson~misssadiethompson]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:January 7, 1928

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences George Barnes Best Cinematography 1927 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gloria Swanson Best Actress 1927 Nominee

Cast

Lionel Barrymore
as Alfred Atkinson
Blanche Frederici
as Mrs. Atkinson
Gloria Swanson
as Sadie Thompson
James Marcus
as Joe Horn
Raoul Walsh
as Sgt. Tim O'Hara
Will Stanton
as Quartermaster Bates

Crew

Raoul Walsh
Director
William Cameron Menzies
Director
Gloria Swanson
Producer
Raoul Walsh
Screenwriter
Robert Kurrle
Cinematographer
George Barnes
Cinematographer
C. Gardner Sullivan
Editor
Advertisement