Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sabrina Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P116768~Billy Wilder~billywilder]] directs the lighthearted romantic comedy Sabrina, based on the play by [[Performer~P206627~Samuel A. Taylor~samuelataylor]]. Sabrina Fairchild ([[Performer~P31869~Audrey Hepburn~audreyhepburn]]) is the simple, naïve daughter of a chauffeur, Thomas Fairchild ([[Performer~P206613~John Williams~johnwilliams]]). They live on an estate with the wealthy Oliver Larrabee ([[Performer~P30059~Walter Hampden~walterhampden]]) and his two sons: workaholic older brother Linus ([[Performer~P7027~Humphrey Bogart~humphreybogart]]) and fun-loving younger brother David ([[Performer~P32805~William Holden~williamholden]]). Sabrina adores the charming David, but he thinks of her as just a kid. Her father sends her away to Paris for chef school, where she meets Baron St. Fontanel ([[Performer~P16657~Marcel Dalio~marceldalio]]), and she returns a worldly, sophisticated woman. David immediately falls for her, but he is already engaged to marry heiress Elizabeth Tyson ([[Performer~P34234~Martha Hyer~marthahyer]]). Sabrina wants to break up the wedding in order to finally catch the man of her dreams, while Linus fights to keep the marriage on in the interest of family business and Mr. Tyson's ([[Performer~P9870~Francis X. Bushman~francisxbushman]]) fortune. In order to keep Sabrina away from David, Linus pretends to court her himself. In doing so, they eventually realize their true feelings for each another. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:September 9, 1954

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ray Moyer Best Black and White Art Direction 1954 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Walter Tyler Best Black and White Art Direction 1954 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Audrey Hepburn Best Actress 1954 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Billy Wilder Best Screenplay 1954 Winner
Directors Guild of America Billy Wilder Best Director 1954 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Billy Wilder Best Director 1954 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Billy Wilder Best Screenplay 1954 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Edith Head Best Black and White Costume Design 1954 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ernest Lehman Best Screenplay 1954 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ernest Lehman Best Screenplay 1954 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Sam Taylor Best Screenplay 1954 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Hal Pereira Best Black and White Art Direction 1954 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Charles B. Lang Best Black and White Cinematography 1954 Nominee

Cast

Humphrey Bogart
as Linus Larrabee
Audrey Hepburn
as Sabrina Fairchild
William Holden
as David Larrabee
Walter Hampden
as Oliver Larrabee
Francis X. Bushman
as Mr. Tyson
Martha Hyer
as Elizabeth Tyson
Marcel Dalio
as Baron
Marcel Hillaire
as The Professor
Nella Walker
as Maude Larrabee
Ellen Corby
as Miss McCardle
Paul Harvey
as Doctor
Kay Riehl
as Mrs. Tyson
Kay Kuter
as Houseman
Colin Campbell
as Board Member
Emory Parnell
as Charles, butler
Harvey B. Dunn
as Man with Tray
Marjorie Bennett
as Margaret, cook
David Ahdar
as Ship Steward
Bill Neff
as Man with Linus
Emmett Vogan
as Board Member
Nancy Kulp
as Jenny, maid
Otto Forrest
as Elevator Operator
Marion Ross
as Spiller's Girl Friend
Charles Harvey
as Spiller

Crew

Billy Wilder
Director
Billy Wilder
Producer
Billy Wilder
Screenwriter
Ernest Lehman
Screenwriter
Charles B. Lang
Cinematographer
Frederick Hollander
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Rodgers
Songwriter
Doane Harrison
Editor
Walter Tyler
Art Director
Hal Pereira
Art Director
Ray Moyer
Set Designer
Sam Comer
Set Designer
Edith Head
Costume Designer
John Cope
Sound/Sound Designer
Harold Lewis
Sound/Sound Designer
Farciot Edouart
Special Effects
John P. Fulton
Special Effects
Wally Westmore
Makeup
Advertisement