Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Ruthless People Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The last film to be co-directed by [[Performer~P78951~Jim Abrahams~jimabrahams]], [[Performer~P118048~David Zucker~davidzucker]], and [[Performer~P118047~Jerry Zucker~jerryzucker]], Ruthless People stars [[Performer~P102748~Bette Midler~bettemidler]] (capitalizing on her comeback performance in [[Feature~V14493~Down and Out in Beverly Hills~downandoutinbeverlyhills]]) as Barbara, a spoiled rich woman who is kidnapped by the kindly Ken and Sandy Kessler ([[Performer~P107897~Judge Reinhold~judgereinhold]] and [[Performer~P66190~Helen Slater~helenslater]]). Barbara's forceful husband Sam ([[Performer~P17602~Danny DeVito~dannydevito]]) has ripped off the Kesslers and they decide to hold Barbara for ransom. Sam, who hates his wife, refuses to pay. Eventually Barbara befriends the Kesslers and together they figure out how to exact revenge upon the obnoxious Sam. [[Performer~P58045~Bill Pullman~billpullman]] makes his film debut here as a very dim, would-be criminal. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:June 27, 1986

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Danny DeVito Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1986 Nominee

Cast

Danny DeVito
as Sam Stone
Bette Midler
as Barbara Stone
Judge Reinhold
as Ken Kessler
Helen Slater
as Sandy Kessler
Anita Morris
as Carol
Bill Pullman
as Earl Mott
William G. Schilling
as Police Commissioner
Art Evans
as Lt. Bender
Clarence Felder
as Lt. Walters
J.E. Freeman
as Bedroom Killer
Gary Riley
as Heavy Metal Kid
Louise Yaffe
as Social Worker
Frank Sivero
as The Mugger
Charlotte Zucker
as Judge
Jon Cutler
as Stereo Store Customer
Bob Tzudiker
as Sam's Attorney
Christopher Keene
as Cop at Jail
Phyllis Applegate
as Loan Officer
Jonathan Coleman
Jim Doughan
as Cop at Sam's House
Arturo Bonilla
as Waiter
Janet Rotblatt
as Secretary to Chief of Police
Jeannine Bisignano
as Hooker in Car
Arnold Turner
as Cop with Killer Picture
J.P. Bumstead
as Technician

Crew

Jim Abrahams
Director
Jerry Zucker
Director
David Zucker
Director
Michael Peyser
Producer
Frederick Zollo
Producer
Dale Launer
Screenwriter
David Zucker
Screenwriter
Jan de Bont
Cinematographer
Michel Colombier
Composer (Music Score)
Gib Jaffe
Editor
Arthur Schmidt
Editor
Lilly Kilvert
Production Designer
Don Woodruff
Art Director
Jim Teegarden
Set Designer
Rosanna Norton
Costume Designer
Ellen Chenoweth
Casting
Advertisement