Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Rush Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on a gritty, semi-autobiographical novel by author [[Performer~P311978~Kim Wozencraft~kimwozencraft]], this crime thriller was adapted for the screen by noir novelist [[Performer~P204338~Pete Dexter~petedexter]] and marked the directorial debut of producer [[Performer~P117830~Lili Fini Zanuck~lilifinizanuck]]. [[Performer~P41672~Jennifer Jason Leigh~jenniferjasonleigh]] stars as Kristen Cates, a rookie police officer recruited to partner with Jim Raynor ([[Performer~P55385~Jason Patric~jasonpatric]]), an undercover Texas cop trying to infiltrate the criminal ring of major drug dealer Will Gaines ([[Performer~P79396~Gregg Allman~greggallman]]) in the 1970s. What Kristen isn't told is that, as part of his deep cover masquerade, Jim must take drugs in order to be convincing and, unsurprisingly, has become an addict. Although this dangerous practice is not acceptable police procedure, Jim and Kristen's zealous superiors Larry Dodd ([[Performer~P21648~Sam Elliott~samelliott]]) and Donald Nettle ([[Performer~P24760~Tony Frank~tonyfrank]]) are obsessed with taking Gaines down because he has corrupted the daughter of a prominent local citizen. Jim and Kristen, who fall in love and move in together, befriend a petty car thief, Walker ([[Performer~P56088~Max Perlich~maxperlich]]), who has ties to Gaines. Since they both become drug addicts, Jim and Kristen's case makes little progress, until they clean up and convince Walker to turn on Gaines. Their investigation becomes tainted, however, when they are pressured from above to manufacture false evidence against their target. The soundtrack for Rushcontained the hit song "Tears in Heaven" by [[Performer~P85122~Eric Clapton~ericclapton]]. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:December 22, 1991

Cast

Jason Patric
as Jim Raynor
Jennifer Jason Leigh
as Kristen Cates
Sam Elliott
as Larry Dodd
Max Perlich
as Walker
Gregg Allman
as Will Gaines
Connie Cooper
as Judge
Barbara Lasater
as Yellow Rose Bartender
Brandon Smith
as Cop
Dell Gibson
as Reporter
Suzanne Savoy
as Dodd's Wife
Jerry King
as Man in Hearse
Willie Ellison
as Police Instructor
Ron Kern
as Domino Player
Shari Rhodes
Bill Sadler
as Monroe
Bill Sadler
as Nettle
Dennis Letts
as Senior District Attorney
Jimmy Pickens
as Man in Disco
Dennis Burkley
as Motorcycle Guy
Tom Rosales
as Wino
Glenn Wilson
as Motorcycle Guy
Niles Caldwell
as Scooter Trash
Ken Stadler
as Police Lieutenant
Toni Pilgreen
as Driller's Waitress
Tony Frank
as Chief Donald Nettle
Jim Phillips
as Club Band - "Terrell"
Blue Deckert
as Medical Examiner

Crew

Lili Fini Zanuck
Director
Gary Daigler
Producer
Richard D. Zanuck
Producer
Kim Wozencraft
Book Author
Peter Dexter
Screenwriter
Timothy R. Sexton
Musical Direction/Supervision
Eric Clapton
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Warner
Editor
Paul Sylbert
Production Designer
Colleen Atwood
Costume Designer
Hank Garfield
Sound/Sound Designer
Bruno Van Zeebroeck
Special Effects
Katterli A. Frauenfelder
First Assistant Director
Gary Daigler
Production Manager
Advertisement