Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Runaway Train Details


Russian director Andrei Konchalovsky's second American film may well be the only existential adventure flick in Hollywood history. Two prisoners, Manny (Jon Voight) and Buck (Eric Roberts), escape from a desolate Alaskan maximum-security facility. They hop aboard a speeding train, making a clean escape. But the engineer has suffered a heart attack, and the train goes out of control. To prevent a disastrous head-on collision, the railroad heads decide to derail the runaway train, killing its occupants to save the lives of hundreds of others. Once Manny catches on to what's happening, he tries to jump off the train, only to be talked out of such a foolhardy act by railroad employee Sara (Rebecca DeMornay). As doom approaches, Manny apparently goes mad, viciously preventing any attempts to stop the train or rescue its passengers: if he's to die, and if the others are to be saved, it will be on his terms, or no terms. Runaway Train was slated as a project for Akira Kurosawa in 1970, but for various creative and scheduling reasons, it remained on the back burner for 15 years. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 6, 1985


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Eric Roberts Best Supporting Actor 1985 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Jon Voight Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1985 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jon Voight Best Actor 1985 Nominee


Jon Voight
as Manny
Eric Roberts
as Buck
Rebecca De Mornay
as Sara
Kyle Heffner
as Frank Barstow
John Ryan
as Ranken
T.K. Carter
as Dave Prince
Kenneth McMillan
as Eddie MacDonald
Stacey Pickren
as Ruby
Walter Wyatt
as Conlan
Edward Bunker
as Jonah
Reid Cruickshanks
as Al Turner
Big Yank
as Trainer
Jerry Brainum
as Bodybuilder
John Fountain
as Guard
Larry John Meyers
as Pulasky
Wally Rose
as Announcer
Hank Worden
as Old Con
Tony Epper
as Hitman
John Otrin
as Cut Con
Duey Thomasick
as Emergency Worker
Michael Lee Gogin
as Short Con
Don Pugsley
as Guard
John-Clay Scott
as Conductor Eastbound 12
Loren Jones
as Engineer Eastbound 12
Harris D. Smith
as Willard
John Bloom
as Tall Con
Obie Weeks
as Head Brakeman
Phillip Earl
as 1st Crewman
Charlie Messenger
as Yardworker
Don McLaughlin
as Foreman Cassidy
Tommy "Tiny" Lister, Jr.
as Black Guard
Vladimir Bibic
as Fireman Wright
Danny Trejo
as Boxer
Diane Erickson
as Sue Major
Dana Belgarde
as Prison Guard
Dennis Ott
as Guard
Carmen Filpi
as Signal Maintainer


Andrei Konchalovsky
Yoram Globus
Menahem Golan
Paul Zindel
Djordje Milicevic
Edward Bunker
Alan Hume
Trevor Jones
Musical Direction/Supervision
Trevor Jones
Composer (Music Score)
Joseph T. Garrity
Art Director
Mati Raz
Associate Producer
Henry T. Weinstein
Executive Producer
Robert A. Goldstone
Executive Producer
Anne Kuljian
Set Designer
Katherine Dover
Costume Designer
Tassilo Baur
Special Effects
Keith Richins
Special Effects
Bob Riggs
Special Effects
Loren Janes
Mony Mansano