Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Rudy Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A young man learns to let nothing stop him from realizing his ambitions in this drama, based on a true story. Ever since he was a little boy, Rudy Ruettiger ([[Performer~P2649~Sean Astin~seanastin]]) has dreamed of attending Notre Dame University, and playing on the Fighting Irish football team. However, Rudy's dream doesn't seem very practical; Daniel ([[Performer~P4810~Ned Beatty~nedbeatty]]), his father, works in a steel mill and can ill afford to send his son to Notre Dame, while Rudy's grades are not especially impressive, and standing a shade over five feet tall and weighing a little over 100 pounds, Rudy is hardly built for the gridiron. However, with the help of Father Cavanaugh ([[Performer~P57934~Robert Prosky~robertprosky]]), a sympathetic priest, Rudy is admitted to nearby Holy Cross, and in his junior year manages to squeak into Notre Dame as a transfer student. Rudy works as an assistant to the football stadium's groundskeeper, Fortune ([[Performer~P20824~Charles S. Dutton~charlessdutton]]), to pay his tuition (often sleeping in Fortune's office since he can't afford a room), studies diligently, and appears at tryouts for the football team. Rudy is made a member of the practice team, which means he's little more than a human tackling dummy, but Coach Ara Parseghian ([[Performer~P102867~Jason Miller~jasonmiller]]) is impressed with Rudy's devotion and determination, and pledges that he'll allow him to dress for one game before he graduates, so his name can be recorded as an official member of the team. However, the arrival of a new coach and a tough season that allows for few unnecessary players may put a stop to Rudy's dreams within sight of the finish line. Rudy also stars [[Performer~P22880~Jon Favreau~jonfavreau]], [[Performer~P70063~Lili Taylor~lilitaylor]], and [[Performer~P5354~Scott Benjaminson~scottbenjaminson]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 18, 1993

Cast

Sean Astin
as Rudy Ruettiger
Ned Beatty
as Daniel Ruettiger
Charles S. Dutton
as Fortune
Lili Taylor
as Sherry
Jason Miller
as Ara Parseghian
Robert Prosky
as Father Cavanaugh
Jon Favreau
as D-Bob
Scott Benjaminson
as Frank
Ron Dean
as Coach Yonto
Chelcie Ross
as Dan Devine
Diana James
as Pick-up Girl
Gerry Becker
as Father Ted
Sean Grennan
as High School Assistant Coach
Sharon Bialy
Johanna Ray
Lorenzo Clemons
as High School Assistant Coach
Michael Sassone
as Guard
Richard Pagano
John Beasley
as Coach Warren
John Duda
as Frank--Age 15
Debi Manwiller
Mary Ann Thebus
as Betty

Crew

David Anspaugh
Director
Robert N. Fried
Producer
Cary Woods
Producer
Angelo Pizzo
Screenwriter
Oliver Wood
Cinematographer
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Curt Frisk
Musical Direction/Supervision
David Rosenbloom
Editor
Billy Higgins
Production Designer
Robb Wilson King
Production Designer
Angelo Pizzo
Co-producer
Lee R. Mayes
Executive Producer
Jane Anderson
Costume Designer
Michael Waxman
First Assistant Director
Angela Nogaro
Makeup
Advertisement