Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Ruby Gentry Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P36139~Jennifer Jones~jenniferjones]] offers a virtual reprise of her sultry performance in [[Feature~V14930~Duel in the Sun~duelinthesun]] as the titular heroine of Ruby Gentry. Born into a poor-white-trash Southern family, Ruby intends to improve her lot by marrying into wealth. Her casual beau Boake Tackman ([[Performer~P94233~Charlton Heston~charltonheston]]) considers Ruby unfit for marriage, but prosperous businessman Jim Gentry ([[Performer~P44670~Karl Malden~karlmalden]]) is eager and willing to make her his wife. Gentry dies in an accident, and the consensus of opinion is that he was killed by the covetous Ruby. For some reason, this turns Boake on, and he renews his torrid romance with the widow Gentry. Ruby's crazed brother, Jewel ([[Performer~P1550~James Anderson~jamesanderson]]), puts an end to this affair with a shotgun, provoking a violent response from Ruby and a "Lady or the Tiger" ending. Produced independently by director [[Performer~P115411~King Vidor~kingvidor]] and [[Performer~P158474~Joseph Bernhard~josephbernhard]], Ruby Gentry was released in the U.S. by 20th Century Fox. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Jennifer Jones
as Ruby Corey/Ruby Gentry
Charlton Heston
as Boake Tackman
Karl Malden
as Jim Gentry
Tom Tully
as Jud Corey
Bernard Phillips
as Dr. Saul Manfred
Josephine Hutchinson
as Letitia Gentry
Phyllis Avery
as Tracy McAuliffe
Herbert Heyes
as Judge Tackman
Myra Marsh
as Ma Corey
Charles Cane
as Cullen McAuliffe
Sam Flint
as Neil Fallgren
Frank Wilcox
as Clyde Pratt
Dayton Lummis

Crew

King Vidor
Director
King Vidor
Producer
Russell Harlan
Cinematographer
David Chudnow
Musical Direction/Supervision
Mitchell Parish
Songwriter
Heinz Roemheld
Composer (Music Score)
Heinz Roemheld
Songwriter
Terrell O. Morse
Editor
Advertisement