Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Room for One More Details


Based on the autobiography by George and Anna Rose, Room for One More is a warm-hearted vehicle for husband-and-wife actors [[Performer~P28204~Cary Grant~carygrant]] and [[Performer~P20051~Betsy Drake~betsydrake]]. Though she already has three children of her own, New Jersey housewife Anna Rose ([[Performer~P20051~Drake~betsydrake]]) adopts several kids born into less fortunate circumstances. Both Anna and her husband "Poppy" ([[Performer~P28204~Grant~carygrant]]) must contend with the emotional baggage brought to their home by these "unwanted" kids, and both bear up quite well. The film's dramatic core concerns the Roses' efforts to reach a desperately unhappy 13-year-old girl ([[Performer~P45079~Iris Mann~irismann]]) and a physically handicapped boy with a penchant for getting into serious trouble ([[Performer~P69946~Clifford Tatum Jr~cliffordtatumjr]]). Despite occasional moments of anguish and pathos, Room for One More for the most part opts for a light-hearted approach to its subject matter. In 1962, a TV sitcom version of Room for One More, starring [[Performer~P20432~Andrew Duggan~andrewduggan]] and [[Performer~P46999~Peggy McCay~peggymccay]], debuted as a mid-season replacement over the ABC network; at that time, the original film was re-titled The Easy Way. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Cary Grant
as "Poppy" Rose
Betsy Drake
as Anna Rose
Iris Mann
as Jane
Randy Stuart
as Mrs. Foreman
John Ridgely
as Harry Foreman
Irving Bacon
as The Mayor
Lurene Tuttle
as Miss Kenyon
Mary Treen
as Mrs. Roberts
Malcolm Cassell
as Tim
Larry Olsen
as Ben Roberts
Marcoreta Hellman
Dorothy Kennedy
Hayden Rorke
as The Doctor
Don Beddoe
as School Principal
William Bakewell
as Milkman
Oliver Blake
as Mr. Doran
Frank Ferguson
as Steve
Ezelle Poule
Stephen Wootton
as Little Brother
Doris Kemper
Dabbs Greer
as Scoutmaster
Karen Hale
Felice Richmond
Douglas Fowley
as Ice Man
Mary Newton
Lillian Bronson
as Teacher
Charles Meredith
as Mr. Thatcher


Norman Taurog
Henry Blanke
Melville Shavelson
Jack Rose
Robert Burks
Max Steiner
Composer (Music Score)
Alan Crosland, Jr.
Marjorie Best
Costume Designer
Gordon Bau