Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Room 237 Details

  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2013
  • Rated:
  • Runtime: 1 hr. 42 min.
  • Genres: Documentary
  • Director:Rodney Ascher

FULL SYNOPSIS

Filmmaker [[Performer~P510572~Rodney Ascher~rodneyascher]] examines the many conspiracy theories surrounding [[Performer~P98221~Stanley Kubrick~stanleykubrick]]'s controversial 1980 horror classic [[Feature~V44363~The Shining~theshining]] by speaking with fans of the film, and scholars who claim the director had a hidden agenda in adapting [[Performer~P97473~Stephen King~stephenking]]'s bestselling novel to the big screen. In-depth conversations with [[Performer~P286670~Bill Blakemore~billblakemore]], Geoffrey Cocks, Juli Kearns, John Fell Ryan, and [[Performer~P602649~Jay Weidner~jayweidner]] ([[Feature~V534896~Kubrick's Odyssey~kubricksodyssey:secretshiddeninthefilmsofstanleykubrick]]) reveal a wide spectrum of theories pertaining to [[Performer~P98221~Kubrick~stanleykubrick]]'s film, including speculation that it was a cinematic allegory for the slaughter of Native Americans, the Holocaust, or perhaps a cleverly-constructed confession that he was in fact the filmmaker responsible for faking the 1969 moon landing that placed the U.S. at the cutting-edge of the international space race against the former Soviet Union. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:March 29, 2013

Cast

Crew

Rodney Ascher
Director
Jonathan Snipes
Composer (Music Score)
Andrew Herwitz
Associate Producer
Advertisement