Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Romance and Rejection Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

TV-commercial director [[Performer~P234566~Kevin W. Smith~kevinwsmith]] wrote and directed this British romantic comedy, his feature-film directorial debut. Composer Mike ([[Performer~P19277~Reece Dinsdale~reecedinsdale]]) hopes to create symphonies. Instead, he dashes off jingles for TV commercials and gets rhapsodic over memories of ex-girlfriend Helen ([[Performer~P233028~Victoria Smurfit~victoriasmurfit]]). Mike's carefree buddy Tony ([[Performer~P124492~John Hannah~johnhannah]]) is a painter who alternates alcohol and a stressful relationship with tempestuous Moira ([[Performer~P38347~Rowena King~rowenaking]]). Soon Mike's life takes several unexpected twists and turns. First, he falls in step with a French female, Sara ([[Performer~P224012~Clara Bellar~clarabellar]]). The attraction is mutual, so the two depart together on an idyllic vacation. Next, Mike locates his mother ([[Performer~P78084~Susannah York~susannahyork]]), who 35 years previous had left his father ([[Performer~P23510~Frank Finlay~frankfinlay]]). Mike's misadventures are chronicled in a narration delivered by [[Performer~P19277~Dinsdale~reecedinsdale]]. Shown at the 1997 [[Feature~V17236~London Film Festival~filmfirsts]]. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Crew

Jonathan English
Producer
Ian Savage
Cinematographer
Mark Talbot-Butler
Editor
Lucy Reeves
Production Designer
Ian Hammond
Art Director
Michael Guest
Executive Producer
Emma Gaskin
Costume Designer
Bill McCarthy
Sound/Sound Designer
Julian Hearne
First Assistant Director
Advertisement