Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Rocket Science Details


Jeffrey Blitz's seriocomedy Rocket Science proves that many a handicap can be overcome, no matter how daunting the obstacle at hand may initially seem. Newcomer Reece Thompson plays Hal Hefner, a 15-year-old high-school student with a minor yet socially alienating (and painful) disability: he stutters uncontrollably. Determined to work through the problem, Hal opts for an extreme route -- he joins the school debating team, which sends him on a headfirst plunge into breakneck speech competitions -- and offers a much-needed boost toward correcting the problem. Blitz, like his onscreen alter ego, struggled with a stammer as a young man -- a disability he eventually surmounted -- which imparted him with a lifelong interest in speech and storytelling. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:August 10, 2007


Awarded by
Independent Spirit Awards Anna Kendrick Best Supporting Female 2007 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Sean Welch Best First Feature 2007 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Jeffrey Blitz Best First Feature 2007 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Jeffrey Blitz Best First Screenplay 2007 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Effie Brown Best First Feature 2007 Nominee


Reece Daniel Thompson
as Hal Hafner
Anna Kendrick
as Ginny Ryerson
Nicholas D'Agosto
as Ben Wekselbaum
Vincent Piazza
as Earl Hefner
Margo Martindale
as Coach Lumbly
Aaron Yoo
as Heston
Josh Kay
as Lewis Garrles
Stephen Park
as Judge Pete
Maury Ginsberg
as Mr Lewinsky
Utkarsh Ambudkar
as Tam
Denis O'Hare
as Doyle Hefner
Lisbeth Bartlett
as Juliet Hefner
Virginia Frank
as English Teacher
Marilyn Yoblick
as Plainsboro Lunch Lady
Emily Ginnona
as Honoria
Dionne Audain
as Abraham Lincoln
Dan DeLuca
as Stephen Douglas
Michael Kusnir
as Flemming
Jane Beard
as Fern Garrles
Herb Merrick
as Lewis' Dad
Carol Florence
as Connie Ryerson
Jonah Hill
as Junior Philosopher
Betsy Hogg
as Harnish-Steinberg, Crystal
Brandon Thane Wilson
as Philip
Zack Arrington
as Plainsboro Debate Team Member
Jaime Chicas
as Plainsboro Debate Team Member
Katrina Hargrave
as Plainsboro Debate Team Member
Erin Loube
as Plainsboro Debate Team Member
Natasha Sattler
as Plainsboro Debate Team Member
Jeffrey Wei
as Plainsboro Debate Team Member
David de Boy
as Ryerson, Frank
Huong Huyah
as Lewinsky's Girlfriend
Elisabeth Noone
as Hazlet Coach
Noah Mazaika
as Trophy Presenter 1
Will Parquette
as Trophy Presenter 2
Tara Richter-Smith
as Babysitter
Judy Jean Berns
as Townsend Prep Receptionist
Jeanette Brox
as Townsend Prep Bad Girl
Lee Sellars
as New Jersey Debate Official
Joel Garland
as Pizza Server
Dan Cashman
as Narrator


Jeffrey Blitz
Sean Welch
Jeffrey Blitz
Jo Willems
Evyen Klean
Musical Direction/Supervision
Eef Barzelay
Composer (Music Score)
Yana Gorskaya
Rick Butler
Production Designer
Candi Guterres
Production Designer
Halina Gebarowicz
Art Director
Lisa Tong
Set Decorator
Jay Klein
Set Decorator
Ernesto Martinez
Costume Designer
Ken Ishii
Sound/Sound Designer
Matthew Lessall
Hank Atterbury
Special Effects Coordinator
Dave McMoyler
Supervising Sound Editor
Rehya Young
Location Manager
Derek Yip
Production Accountant
Baqi Kopelman
Jean Chien
Production Supervisor
Bob Spore
Properties Master
Mike Keelty
Debi Young
Key Make-up
Effie Brown
Unit Production Manager
Janice Kinigopoulos
Key Hairstylist
Manny Siverio
Stunts Coordinator
Lori Ayala-Read
Costumes Supervisor
Lori Dovi
Production Sound
David Willis
Production Supervisor
Byron Shah
Second Unit Director Of Photography