Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Robin Hood: Men in Tights Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P83158~Mel Brooks~melbrooks]] directed and co-wrote this satiric comedy which lampoons a number of cinematic treatments of the legend of Sherwood Forest, including [[Feature~V41689~Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves~robinhood:princeofthieves]] and The Adventures of Robin Hood. Robin Hood ([[Performer~P21754~Cary Elwes~caryelwes]]) comes home after fighting in the Crusades to learn that the noble King Richard ([[Performer~P68265~Patrick Stewart~patrickstewart]]) is in exile and that the despotic King John ([[Performer~P99649~Richard Lewis~richardlewis]]) now rules England, with the help of the Sheriff of Rottingham ([[Performer~P59327~Roger Rees~rogerrees]]). Robin Hood assembles a band of fellow patriots to do battle with John and the Sheriff, including Asneeze ([[Performer~P31228~Isaac Hayes~isaachayes]]) and his son Ahchoo ([[Performer~P12383~Dave Chappelle~davechappelle]]), the blind watchman Blinkin ([[Performer~P6697~Mark Blankfield~markblankfield]]), Will Scarlet O'Hara ([[Performer~P210704~Matthew Porretta~matthewporretta]]), and Rabbi Tuckman ([[Performer~P83158~Brooks~melbrooks]]). The Sheriff is eager to put Robin Hood out of business with the aid of criminal mastermind Don Giovanni ([[Performer~P87126~Dom DeLuise~domdeluise]]), but Robin soon has an ally in the royal palace when he falls for the lovely Maid Marian ([[Performer~P77924~Amy Yasbeck~amyyasbeck]]), whose minder Broomhilde ([[Performer~P11873~Megan Cavanagh~megancavanagh]]) has uncooperatively outfitted Marian with a chastity belt. The cast also includes [[Performer~P72400~Tracy Ullman~traceyullman]], Robert Ridgely, and [[Performer~P59723~Clive Revill~cliverevill]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 28, 1993

Cast

Cary Elwes
as Robin Hood
Richard Lewis
as Prince John
Roger Rees
as Sheriff of Rottingham
Amy Yasbeck
as Maid Marian
Dave Chappelle
as Ahchoo
Tracey Ullman
as Latrine
Mark Blankfield
as Blinkin
Mel Brooks
as Rabbi Tuckman
Eric Allan Kramer
as Little John
Megan Cavanagh
as Broomhilde
Dom DeLuise
as Don Giovanni
Dick Van Patten
as Abbot
Matthew Porretta
as Will Scarlet O'Hara
Isaac Hayes
as Asneeze
Patrick Stewart
as Richard I the Lionheart
Herman Poppe
as Sheriff's Guard
Johnny Cocktails
as Wedding Guest
Don Hesser
as Merry Men Dancer
Lindsay Chag
Brian George
as Dungeon Maitre d'
David DeLuise
as Villager
Joe Baker
as Angry Villager
Robert Noble
as Villager
Richard Assad
as Assistant Saracen Guard
Henry Kaiser
as Villager
Don Lewis
as Mime
Chuck McCann
as Villager
Clement Von Franckenstein
as Royal Announcer
Patrick Brymer
as Villager
Avery Schreiber
as Tax Assessor
Carol Arthur
as Complaining Villager
Rudy de Luca
as Party Guest
Robert Ridgely
as Hangman
Malcom Danare
as Inept Archer
Robin Shepard
as Party Guest
Ronny Graham
as Villager
Peter Pitofsky
as Inept Archer
Ira Miller
as Villager
Mathew Saks
as Party Guest
Nick Jameson
as Inept Archer
Zitto Kazann
as Head Saracen Guard
Laurie Main
as Wedding Guest
Patrick Valenzuela
as Lead Camel Jockey
Corbin Allred
as Young Lad
James Van Patten
as Villager
Clive Revill
as Fire Marshall
Tony Tanner
as Villager

Crew

Mel Brooks
Director
Mel Brooks
Producer
Mel Brooks
Screenwriter
Evan Chandler
Screenwriter
Evan Chandler
Screen Story
Michael D. O'Shea
Cinematographer
Hummie Mann
Composer (Music Score)
Jeff Wexler
Musical Direction/Supervision
Stephen E. Rivkin
Editor
Robert Latham Brown
Production Designer
Evan Chandler
Associate Producer
Peter Schindler
Executive Producer
Bruce Hill
Set Designer
Ronald R. Reiss
Set Designer
David M. Haber
Set Designer
Dodie Shepard
Costume Designer
Steve Maslow
Sound/Sound Designer
Michael Genne
Camera Operator
Robert Latham Brown
Production Manager
Bari Dreiband-Burman
Makeup
Bill Shepard
Casting Director
Advertisement