Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

River of No Return Details


Director Otto Preminger's only western, River of No Return is set in Canada during the 19th century Gold Rush. Farmer Matt Calder ([[Performer~P49738~Robert Mitchum~robertmitchum]]) is released from prison after serving a sentence for shooting a man in the back to protect a friend. He arrives in a small town to retrieve his young son, Mark ([[Performer~P59703~Tommy Rettig~tommyrettig]]), who has befriended a sultry saloon singer, Kay ([[Performer~P50065~Marilyn Monroe~marilynmonroe]]). Matt is also friendly with Kay, and thanks her profusely for looking after Mark, but distrusts her paramour, Harry Weston ([[Performer~P83867~Rory Calhoun~rorycalhoun]])- a gambler with the morals of an alley cat. Matt and Mark return to their rural homestead, but soon glimpse Kay and Harry on a sinking raft, apparently en route to make good on a gold claim; Matt rescues the two of them, but doesn't count on Harry doing an about face, beating him up, and stealing his horse and gun; Kay stays behind to look after Matt. Meanwhile, the Indians go on the warpath, and the defenseless trio decides to seek refuge by fleeing the farm and sailing down the river on a raft. En route, the son - thanks to Kay's doing - is unexpectedly disillusioned about the father's original crime. Moreover, as Matt approaches town, he begins to plot a decisive revenge against Harry. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Robert Mitchum
as Matt Calder
Marilyn Monroe
as Kay Weston
Rory Calhoun
as Harry Weston
Tommy Rettig
as Mark Calder
Murvyn Vye
as Dave Colby
Douglas Spencer
as Sam Benson
Don Beddoe
as Ben
Will Wright
as Merchant
Hal Baylor
as Young Punk
Ed Hinton
as A Gambler
Barbara Nichols
as Blonde Dancer
Edmund Cobb
as A Barber
Jarma Lewis
as Dancer
John Doucette
as Spectator in the Black Nugget
Paul Newlan
as Prospector
Ralph Sanford
as Bartender
Arthur Shields
as The Minister


Otto Preminger
Stanley Crea Rubin
Louis Lantz
Screen Story
Joseph La Shelle
Cyril Mockridge
Composer (Music Score)
Ken Darby
Lionel Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Lionel Newman
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Addison Hehr
Art Director
Walter Scott
Set Designer
William Travilla
Costume Designer
Charles LeMaire
Costume Designer
Roger Heman
Sound/Sound Designer