Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Rising Sun Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

When [[Performer~P86220~Michael Crichton~michaelcrichton]] wrote his best-selling thriller Rising Sun, he wrote the character of hero John Connor with [[Performer~P10646~Sean Connery~seanconnery]] in mind. For [[Performer~P96903~Philip Kaufman~philipkaufman]]'s film version of the novel, [[Performer~P10646~Sean Connery~seanconnery]], needless to say, fits seamlessly into the role of a legendary police detective who is an expert in Japanese culture. The story takes place in the towering office building of the Japanese Nakamoto Corporation in Los Angeles, who are negotiating a deal with Microcon, an American electronics firm. During a gala held one night in the Nakamoto offices, the body of a woman, Cheryl Lynn Austin ([[Performer~P210566~Tatjana Patitz~tatjanapatitz]]) is found murdered in the main conference room. Arriving quickly on the scene is high-amped police lieutenant Tom Graham ([[Performer~P37381~Harvey Keitel~harveykeitel]]), who oozes hatred for anything Japanese from every pore. When he has trouble getting cooperation from the Nakatomo executives, Graham calls in Web Smith ([[Performer~P66675~Wesley Snipes~wesleysnipes]]), a Special Services liaison, and John Connor ([[Performer~P10646~Connery~seanconnery]]), a man well-versed in Japanese culture and traditions. Together they form a team as they investigate the crime. Connor questions computer video expert Jingo ([[Performer~P11254~Tia Carrere~tiacarrere]]), who works on a security system computer disc that captures the killer's identity. The only problem is that the image of the killer on the disc has been altered to conceal the murderer's face. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Cast

Sean Connery
as John Connor
Wesley Snipes
as Web Smith
Harvey Keitel
as Tom Graham
Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa
as Eddie Sakamura
Kevin Anderson
as Bob Richmond
Mako
as Yoshida-san
Ray Wise
as Senator John Morton
Stan Egi
as Ishihara
Stan Shaw
as Phillips
Tia Carrere
as Jingo Asakuma
Steve Buscemi
as Willy "the Weasel" Wilhelm
Tatjana Patitz
as Cheryl Lynn Austin
Michael Leopard
as Cop
Dan Butler
as Ken Shubik
Alexandra Powers
as Julia
Donna Isaacson
Nelson Mashita
as Young Japanese Negotiator
Jeff Imada
as Eddie Sakamura's Yakuza
Shelley Michelle
as Blonde
Amy Hill
as Hsieh
Toshishiro Obata
as Guard at Imperial Arms
Michael Chapman
as Fred Hoffman
Max Kirishima
as Eddie Sakamura's Yakuza
Jessica Tuck
as Senator Morton's Aide
Fumio Demura
as Nakamoto Yakuza
Peter Crombie
as Greg
Meagen Fay
as Hamaguri Receptionist
Tak Kubota
as Nakamoto Yukuza
Joey Miyashima
as Young Japanese Negotiator
Max Grodenchik
as Club Manager
Scot Anthony Robinson
as First Brother
Daniel Von Bargen
as Chief Olson / Interrogator
Tom Dahlgren
as Jim Donaldson
Tony Ganios
as Doorman Guard
Lauren Robinson
as Zelly
Clyde Kusatsu
as Tanaka
Tadashi Yamashita
as Nakamoto Yakuza

Crew

Philip Kaufman
Director
Peter Kaufman
Producer
Ian Bryce
Producer
Michael Crichton
Screenwriter
Michael Crichton
Book Author
Michael Backes
Screenwriter
Philip Kaufman
Screenwriter
Michael Chapman
Cinematographer
Toru Takemitsu
Composer (Music Score)
Stephen A. Rotter
Editor
William Scharf
Editor
Ian Bryce
Production Designer
Dean Tavoularis
Production Designer
Angelo P. Graham
Art Director
Sean Connery
Executive Producer
Gary Fettis
Set Designer
Robert C. Goldstein
Set Designer
Jacqueline West
Costume Designer
Alan Splet
Sound/Sound Designer
David MacMillan
Sound/Sound Designer
Larry Fuentes
Special Effects
Donna Isaacson
Casting
Advertisement