Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Rising Low Details

  • Runtime: 1 hr. 28 min.
  • Genres: Biography, Vocal Music, Music

FULL SYNOPSIS

In 1995, guitarist [[Performer~P293752~Warren Haynes~warrenhaynes]] and bassist Allen Woody left [[Performer~P1119~the Allman Brothers Band~theallmanbrothers]] to form Gov't Mule, a power trio who blended the jam-friendly boogie of Southern rock with the high-powered blues influences of bands such as Cream and [[Performer~P10644~Canned Heat~cannedheat]]. After three studio albums and two live sets, Gov't Mule had won a loyal and growing cult following when Woody died of a drug overdose in the summer of 2000. The band had been working on material for their next album when Woody passed on, and guitarist [[Performer~P293752~Haynes~warrenhaynes]] and drummer Matt Abts decided to move forth with the project as a tribute to their late bandmate, calling in a number of well-known bass players to sit in on various tracks. One of those contacted was [[Performer~P160754~Mike Gordon~mikegordon]] of [[Performer~P282852~Phish~phish]], and [[Performer~P160754~Gordon~mikegordon]] decided to make a film about the historic sessions in tribute to Woody, as well as his surviving bandmates and the many musicians who stepped in to assist with the project. Gov't Mule: Rising Low is a documentary about the sessions which produced {^The Deep End}; among the guest musicians are [[Performer~P280529~Phil Lesh~phillesh]] of the [[Performer~P28290~Grateful Dead~thegratefuldead]], [[Performer~P13550~Les Claypool~lesclaypool]] of Primus, [[Performer~P280821~Jack Casady~jackcasady]] of [[Performer~P35381~Jefferson Airplane~jeffersonairplane]], Jason Newsted of [[Performer~P48684~Metallica~metallica]], Billy Cox of Jimi Hendrix's Band of Gypsies, [[Performer~P67337~Chris Squire~chrissquire]] of [[Performer~P77987~Yes~yes]], and many more. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Crew

Patricia Ibanez
Producer
Elia Lyssy
Cinematographer
Sheri Bylander
Editor
Advertisement