Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Ripley's Game Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The cool and mannered sociopath Tom Ripley returns to the big screen in director [[Performer~P84514~Liliana Cavani~lilianacavani]]'s 2002 crime thriller Ripley's Game, adapted from the 1974 novel by [[Performer~P217495~Patricia Highsmith~patriciahighsmith]]. Living a life of luxury as an art dealer in northern Italy with his musician wife Luisa ([[Performer~P11548~Chiara Caselli~chiaracaselli]]), Ripley ([[Performer~P44846~John Malkovich~johnmalkovich]]) attends a party thrown by Jonathan Trevanny ([[Performer~P223574~Dougray Scott~dougrayscott]]) and overhears the host making critical comments about Ripley's fashion sense. Enraged, Ripley immediately plots his retaliation for this slight, which comes via a reunion with his former business partner Reeves ([[Performer~P233161~Ray Winstone~raywinstone]]). Reeves seeks out Ripley's help in finding an unrecognized assassin to kill a Russian gangster, and Ripley suggests he talk to Trevanny -- whom Ripley knows has recently been diagnosed with leukemia and is also desperately strapped for cash. Trevanny reluctantly accepts the offer, in order to insure his family's security -- but is pressured into a repeat performance, which draws the ire of Ripley. The situation quickly spirals out of control to the point of drawing the attention -- and anger -- of the Russian mob, forcing Ripley to intervene. But the master criminal also develops a respect for his unwitting victim, forming an unlikely friendship under the most dire of circumstances. ~ Ryan Shriver, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 2003

Crew

Liliana Cavani
Director
Ileen Maisel
Producer
Simon Bosanquet
Producer
Riccardo Tozzi
Producer
Patricia Highsmith
Book Author
Liliana Cavani
Screenwriter
Alfio Contini
Cinematographer
Ennio Morricone
Composer (Music Score)
Jon Harris
Editor
Francesco Frigeri
Production Designer
Rolf Mittweg
Executive Producer
Camela Galano
Executive Producer
Marco Chimenz
Executive Producer
Mark Ordesky
Executive Producer
Fotini Dimou
Costume Designer
John Rodda
Sound/Sound Designer
Brian Simmons
Sound/Sound Designer
Fabrizio Castellani
First Assistant Director
Mary Selway
Casting
Advertisement