Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Ringu 2 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P271141~Hideo Nakata~hideonakata]] follows up on the phenomenal success of [[Feature~V180670~Ringu~ringu]] -- the highest grossing Japanese film up to that point -- with this effort. In the previous film, Reiko ([[Performer~P273069~Nanako Matsushima~nanakomatsushima]]) was a television reporter doing a piece on a videotape that seemed to kill those who watched it. Not long after learning that the cause of the killing was a vengeful spirit named Sadako who inhabited the video, Reiko's researcher ex-husband ([[Performer~P140699~Hiroyuki Sanada~hiroyukisanada]]) died a painful death, and the fate of Reiko's son, Yoichi (Rikiya Otaka) -- who watched the tape -- was in doubt. Ring 2 opens with an autopsy of Sadako, whose supernatural rage was sparked when she was dumped in a well. Sadako's powers affect Yoichi, who survived the video and has become a medium of sorts for the wraith. Also affected is Reiko's dead husband's mistress, Mai Takano (played by pop star [[Performer~P273070~Miki Nakatani~mikinakatani]]), whose life has become a living nightmare. Also under Sadako's power is Masami Kurahashi ([[Performer~P236637~Hitomi Sato~hitomisato]]), who was a schoolmate of one of Sadako's first victims. Though many try to get to the bottom of the problem -- including a psychologist ([[Performer~P391525~Fumiyo Kohinata~fumiyokohinata]]) and a police detective (Kenjiro Ishimaru) -- the bodies start piling up. ~ Jonathan Crow, Rovi

Crew

Hideo Nakata
Director
Makoto Ishihara
Producer
Takashige Ichise
Producer
Masato Hara
Producer
Hiroshi Takahashi
Screenwriter
Hideo Yamamoto
Cinematographer
Kenji Kawai
Composer (Music Score)
Nobuyuki Takahashi
Editor
Iwao Saito
Production Designer
Masato Hara
Executive Producer
Hajime Matsumoto
Special Effects
Hajime Matsumoto
Visual Effects
Akira Ono
Lighting
Advertisement