Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Ride, Ryder, Ride! Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Filmed in "glorious" Cinecolor by Eagle-Lion, this was the first of four "Red Ryder" westerns starring [[Performer~P3758~Jim Bannon~jimbannon]] in the title-role, [[Performer~P122004~Don Kay Reynolds~donkayreynolds]] (billed, a bit condescendingly, as "Little Brown Jug") as juvenile sidekick Little Beaver, [[Performer~P43982~Emmett Lynn~emmettlynn]] as Buckskin, and [[Performer~P62661~Marin Sais~marinsais]] as Red Ryder's aunt, The Duchess. After rescuing crusading newspaper editor Libby Brooks ([[Performer~P68268~Peggy Stewart~peggystewart]]) from a gang of bandits, Red Ryder and his friends help the girl bring down Frenchy Beaumont ([[Performer~P46613~Edwin Max~edwinmax]]), the evil owner of the Parisian Hotel and the villain who has been terrorizing the town of Devil's Hole. Libby's brother Gerry ([[Performer~P55897~Steve Pendleton~gaylordstevependleton]]) loses his life in the fight, but Beaumont cheats the hangman with the help of his arrogant lawyer, Iverson ([[Performer~P13843~Fred Coby~fredcoby]]). There is a shootout on main street between Beaumont and Red Ryder before the villain is finally carted off to jail. Based on the long-running (1938-1964) comic strip by Fred Harman, the "Red Ryder" westerns had been very successful for Republic stars [[Performer~P4252~Don "Red" Barry~donredbarry]], [[Performer~P21622~William Elliot~williamwildbillelliott]], and [[Performer~P187570~Allan Lane~arthurlane]] before moving over to Eagle-Lion. Comedian [[Performer~P43982~Lynn~emmettlynn]] was the only series regular to appear for both companies. [[Performer~P62661~Sais~marinsais]], the former wife of silent cowboy star [[Performer~P33614~Jack Hoxie~jackhoxie]], replaced [[Performer~P23853~Alice Fleming~alicefleming]] and [[Performer~P75540~Martha Wentworth~marthawentworth]] as the Duchess. ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Cast

Jim Bannon
as Red Ryder
Emmett Lynn
as Buckskin
Peggy Stewart
as Libby Brooks
Jack O'Shea
as Keno
Stanley Blystone
as Sheriff
William Fawcett
as Judge
Edwin Max
as Frenchy
Steve Clark

Crew

Lewis D. Collins
Director
Gilbert Warrenton
Cinematographer
Advertisement